Daily Archives: February 17, 2017

ARC Review: The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

 

img_6206
Hey everyone, Happy Friday!!

 

I finished the Night Mark, the upcoming new release by my favorite author, Tiffany Reisz and I just had to review it. It’s a smallish review, but the book is AMAZING!

 

sinopsis

 

 

img_6207

 

She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there’s something worth dying for in the past…

From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she’s been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.

 

 

 

MY RATING: 5 Beastly Stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

 

The Night Mark is completely different than anything else Tiffany Reisz ever published. It has NOTHING to do with the Original Sinners series, my favorite books EVER, as you know. It’s not as controversial as The Bourbon Thief, and it’s not an erotic romance. But I’d know it’s a Tiffany Reisz book even if I didn’t know who wrote it. Why is that? Tiffany has the ability to make me smile and feel warm inside by the words she writes. Other (very few) authors have that ability too, but The Night Mark is the kind of story only Tiffany can write.

 

The actual story telling in this book is PHENOMENAL. I will be honest (as usual), the beginning of the story was kind of slow, but once I got the pace of it, I couldn’t put it down. The story is BEAUTIFUL, and it makes us believe in time-travel. We know rationally it’s not possible, but Tiffany makes us believe it IS possible. This book makes us feel like we’re inside the story, like we, the readers, traveled inside of the book, so why can’t time-travel be possible?

 

As you know, I don’t usually read blurbs before reading the books, but I don’t feel like I cheated with Tiffany! The blurb has nothing on the book (and it gives nothing away). It was a surprise after surprise every time I turned a page.

 

The plot line is very fresh. Even tough time-traveling can seem quite straight forward (someone traveling to another time is the basic plot line in this kind of book), it’s the opposite. I love the angle Tiffany chose with The Night Mark and on what she focused.

 

I loved Faye and I could definitely relate to her and put myself in her place. She hasn’t had the easiest life for the past few years and her struggle could be anyone else’s struggle. I really like how relatable she is, the reason she’s suffering too. Even though we may not have been through the same things she has, everyone is going through something.

 

The story is very romantic, not only for the romance aspect of it, but also because of how it was writing. Tiffany’s very words are poetic and the world she created with this book cement that. I’ve always felt like I should have been born and lived in another time (it varies from Medieval Times through the 1960s), so this was the perfect book for me. 1921 never sound so good!

 

But don’t worry, if you’re not into History like I am, it won’t be an issue, The Night Mark doesn’t focus on the History aspect, it focuses on the people, the characters. I actually wish there was more on them, because I’ve finished this books a few hours ago and I already miss the characters.

 

One of the things I most liked about it is the fact it’s different. Different from other time-traveling books. Different from other contemporary romance books. Different from Tiffany’s other books. It’s so refreshing to read something so different from a favorite author, but something you can love too. It shows why that author is between your favorites. Because it’s not easy to write erotic romance, taboo romance and contemporary romance and excel in all of them. So I bow to Tiffany and her writing. She did it again!

 

When I finished The Night Mark I had the biggest smile on my face and tears on my eyes! It was the perfect book, with the perfect story and the perfect writing.

 

I’m really happy I read it, because every new book of Tiffany I read reminds me why she’s my ALL TIME FAVORITE author. They are different and daring and romantic (sometimes in their own way). They make me believe in them and in love. They make me want to be a character inside their pages. I can not imagine a world where Tiffany Reisz’s books don’t exist, because they’ve changed my life. And every new book of hers I read, I’m left with a mark (no pun intended). They mark my heart and I know I’ll have that mark forever, no matter how many other books I read!

 

 

 

 

buy the book

 

Blade Bound will be released on March 28th, but you can PRE-ORDER it now!

 

KINDLE | PAPERBACK | AUDIO

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews