ARC Review: Blade Bound (Chicagoland Vampires #13) by Chloe Neill

 

img_6143

 

Happy Monday, everyone!!

 

Today’s review is for the last book in one of my all time favorite urban fantasy series, the Chicagoland Vampire series by Chloe Neill!!!

 

sinopsis

 

 

 

img_6142

 

The thrilling final installment of Chloe Neill’s New York Timesbestselling urban fantasy series sees a sinister sorcery advancing across Chicago, and it may usher in the fall of Cadogan House… 

Since the night of her brutal attack and unwilling transformation to vampire, Merit’s stood as Sentinel and protector of Chicago’s Cadogan House. She’s saved the Windy City from the forces of darkness time and again with her liege and lover, Ethan Sullivan, by her side.

When the House is infiltrated and Merit is attacked by a vampire seemingly under the sway of dark magic, Merit and Ethan realize the danger is closer than they could have ever imagined. As a malign sorcery spreads throughout the city, Merit must go to war against supernatural powers beyond her comprehension. It’s her last chance to save everything—and everyone—she loves.

 

 

 

 

MY RATING: 5 Beastly Stars

 

5 stars

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

 

Oh wow! First of all, I’ve been reading the Chicagoland Vampires series for years now and the fact I got to read an ARC of the last book is just so amazing!! It’s truly an honor and something I do not take for granted.

 

I’ve loved this series from the first book, when Chloe first introduced us to Merit and her friend Mallory and Ethan. I absolutely LOVED Ethan from the moment I first “met” him! And even though this is a paranormal/urban fantasy series, Chloe made her characters very relatable and there was a lot of feelings in every book. She made me love them. She made me cry. She made me smile and laugh out loud. She made me feel every emotion that just a good writer can make a reader few. I went from a “I love Chloe Neill” phase to a “I HATE Chloe Neill” one with these books. But it didn’t last, because she’s an amazing writer and she definitely redeemed herself. I can definitely say that I LOVE Chloe Neill! She created one of my all time favorite series for sure!

 

Whenever I’m in a “book funk” I choose a paranormal book, because it’s guaranteed they’ll get me out of my funk. Specially if it’s a good story, packed with action and with a truly kick-ass heroine. The Chicagoland Vampires series is one of those. But you can (and will) enjoy these books even if you’re not in a funk. They’re THAT good!

 

Merit and her gang are the best kind of characters to read about! Not to mention Ethan. They are so entertaining together! I love her sense of humor and her appetite (seriously, this girl can EAT! LOL).

 

From the moment I saw the cover of this book, I knew I’d love it, because, not like the previous 12 books, it doesn’t have only Merit in it. It has Ethan. So it had to be a special one. And when I got it (as you know I don’t like to read blurbs, specially if it’s a book whose author I already know and trust) I didn’t know before reading it that Blade Bound would be the last installment in the series

 

But I was right, it is pretty special and there’s a reason Ethan is on the cover. The bond he and Merit share is as stronger as ever and in this book we can see how they are truly partners and equals. From the way they joke with each other, to the way they now know each other and can complete each other sentences and thoughts, their love became as fierce as they did. It was a pleasure to read this book. They’ve came a long way and everything they went through was worth it, just so we could read this book.

 

I also love their relationships with their friends, specially Catcher and Mallory (I love those two). I love Merit’s grandfather, as usual. We can definitely see where she gets her spunk (and her appetite) from. And the Cadogan House vamps are also pretty entertaining, as usual, specially Luc and Lindsay.

 

In this book, Merit and Ethan have to face a very surprising enemy (I loved how Chloe changed things up) and they don’t have to face it alone. For me the story came full cicle, because we can see how each character grew in the story. They’re stronger, and because their bonds are also stronger, they can face anything that comes their way!! It was awesome to see them standing together, to fight or to have fun.

 

I really really enjoyed this series and I loved this book. It was the perfect ending to a perfect series!!!!

 

 

 

 

buy the book

 

Blade Bound will be released on April 25th, but you can PRE-ORDER it now!

 

KINDLE | PAPERBACK | AUDIO

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

