Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Pennies (Dollar Series #1) by Pepper Winters

 

image

 

Hi everyone!!

 

I read an ARC of Pennies by Pepper Winters back in July and although I posted my review on Goodreads, I never posted it here. So here it is, my Mini Review of Pennies, the first book in the Dollar Series. Book 2, Dollars, was released this month too!

 

 

sinopsis

 

pennies

“I’m not the hero in this story, girl. You’d do best to remember that.”

At eighteen years old, I was murdered.

I wish my tale ended there.

However, my killer resuscitated me and sold me to the highest bidder, sentencing me to a world worse than Hell.

For the past two years, I’ve lived a life of torment as a man’s property. I suffer in silence and wish for freedom, but I never break.

I can’t.

I won’t.

But then he arrives.

The first stranger since I was killed.

Elder Prest, a thief with a heart as black as his soul, arrives as a guest in our twisted home. He has business with my owner, but his interest lies in me. He pretends not to notice my bruises and hides his knowledge of what I am, but the way he watches me makes me feel more human than possession.

As his eyes tear through my walls and his voice demands answers, he challenges my owner for one night with me.

I’ve survived two years of torment because I no longer believe in hope, but Elder is the only man who promises me pleasure instead of pain.

Trusting him is dangerous, wanting him is deadly.

Is he my ticket to safety or my ultimate end?

Whoever he is, whatever he wants…I can’t say no..

 

MY RATING:5  Beastly stars

 

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***

 

 

First of all, Pennies is a DARK book. So you’ve been WARNED! LOL

 

Damn! Pepper Winters is an AMAZING writer!! She completely broke me with this book, and yet I can’t wait for more!!!

 

I love how Pepper Winters writes “dark” romances. They are always different and fresh. Her ideas don’t follow any trends and she doesn’t write anything for shock value or to make her books overdramatic.

 

And Pennies is not different. The story will get you to the edge of your sit and it’ll keep you on your toes. When you think you know something will happe, Pepper will surprise you once again.

 

The heroine will have you rooting for her from the very beginning and the hero will make you swoon in all his darkness glory. He is a different kind of dark though, different from other Pepper’s books and different from most of the heroes we know, even though he doesn’t seem like he is.

 

And although the book ends in a cliffy (it is a series, after all), the story is very satisfying! I can’t wait for more!

 

 

 

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

1 Comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews, Carol's Impression, Mini-Review

One response to “Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Pennies (Dollar Series #1) by Pepper Winters

  1. Pingback: Carol’s Favorite Books of 2016 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

