Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Archangel’s Heart (Guild Hunter #9) by Nalini Singh

 

image

 

Hi everyone!!

 

I LOVE this series and when I saw, last week, that the newest book was released, I had to read it!!!

 

 

sinopsis

 

image

 

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

.

 

MY RATING: 4  Beastly stars

 

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

 

Even though, as I mentioned, I LOVE this series, I admit I haven’t read (yet) the books in this series that aren’t Elena and Raphael’s. And I’ve missed a lot of things that hapoened in between their books (although I wasn’t lost while reading Archangel’s Legion and Archangel’s Heart). I wasn’t really interested in other books in the series that don’t feature them or which have them as secondary characters.

 

I’m curioud us now and I’ll end up reading them at some point, but I still like Raphael and Elena to be the main characters in these books.

 

I liked Archangel’s Heart. Two years have passed in the story since Archangel’s Legion and I enjoyed seeing Elena and Raphael in a more “settled” relationship. They haven’t really settled, in the way they aren’t boring or in a routine. I don’t think those two will ever do that. They’re still very much in love and they’re still as entertaining together as they were in the first book.

 

This book doesn’t have many interactions with the Seven. Illium, my favorite of them, appears very little. Dimitri barely appeares. Aodhan on the other hand is the Seven who shines through this whole book. I welcomed the change, even though I missed the other characters, because it gave us a chance to connect with him, which we haven’t really done in the previous books. This book also gives us plenty to know more about the Cadre, since the story is centered in a place they are all, but Lijuan,  together.

 

In the middle of Archangels politics and planning, Elena gets to uncover a lot about her own past too and the reason for them to be out of New York might be connected to it.

 

It was a good book and I enjoyed reading it. It felt good to be reunited with these characters. I don’t believe any book with Elena and Raphael as the main characters will not be good, but I hope the next one will be more “powerful”. This one was very enlightening and entertaining, but I missed the old characters, the Seven and Elena’s friends, although them (and what’s been going on with their lives) have been mentioned. I want to see more of them in the next book. And more action too. And of course, more Elena and Raphael!!!

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Carol's Impression, Mini-Review

Leave a Reply

