Book Review: The Bound (Ascension #2) by K.A. Linde

 

image

 

Hiii book lovers!!

 

So, I finished The Bound by K.A. Linde this morning and I couldnMt wait to write my review!!

 

sinopsis

 

 

image

 

Cyrene Strohm is a Queen’s Affiliate, a high-ranking official of the court of Byern, with power and privilege to spare. But she’s also a keeper of dangerous secrets: like the fact that she holds the heart of the King, and that she possesses magic in a world where magic no longer exists.

Determined to discover what this means and how to use her newfound abilities, Cyrene sets off for the distant land of Eleysia. An island nation where Affiliates are strictly forbidden from entering.

But the journey is perilous, and the destination may mean utter ruin, as Cyrene comes to learn that everything she’s been told her whole life – about her court, her homeland, and even herself—are bound in a beautiful lie.

 

 

 

 

 

MY RATING: 4.5 Beastly Stars

 

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

 

The Bound picks up exactly where The Affiliate ended. When I read The Affiliate I rated it 3.5 stars, I liked it, but parts of the story and plot were still confusing for me, specially what was going on between Cyrene and King Edric. Now that I’ve read The Bound, things are way more clear to me, not only about them, but about the whole story.

 

There is a lot more going on with this story than what we saw in The Affiliate and I can say for myseld that I can’t wait for more!! The Bound definitely captivated me and sealed the deal to me when it comes to the Ascension series.

 

K.A. Linde is so full of surprises! I love the world she created in the first book and now I love it even more. I’m a big fan of fantasy books and I’m a big fan of K.A. Linde. I love how she writes and how she builds her stories. Even though I would have liked to know a bit more on book 1, I’m really satisfied with how she is telling us this story.

 

The Bound brings unravels more about Cyrene’s story and her “mission” and it also introduces us to new characters. Ne characters that I love. Specially Dean. I LOVED him and I believe he was just was the story was missing for me to really love it. The Bound also brings us new intrigues in different courts and even though what is happening in King Edric’s court takes a secondary role, what we see of it brings a lot more clarity to the story. In my review of book 1 I said I wasn’t sure about Prince Kael, for example, but now my mind is more than made about him. It was right in the beginning of The Bound. I’m happy I never felt the pull to Kind Edric either, even though in book 1 he charmed eveeypone, including Cyrene, I still didn’t connect with him. It never felt right because he is married, and that fact doesn’t usually prevent me from connecting to characters. I still want to know more about him, I believe there’s much more about him than we have seen so far. I still hate his wife, though. She’s still a bitch. And the jury is still out about Daufina, although I can’t say I dislike her. She seems veey loyal to her country.

 

A character I definitely love, besides Dean, is Avoca. She’s a great addition to the series and another characters I want to know more of. I have a feeling she’ll be even more important as the story progresses. She has something of her own going on,besides her story with Cyrene and it’s a great side story.

 

The Bound takes us on a journey alongside with Cyrene. She travels through different places, places she did not know and somw she only heard of and just like her, we can see how limited her knowledge of her own country was. And we learn, like she does, that there is a lot more besides what lays inside Byern walls. Byern is a different country not only for its costumes, and ways. But also because of how its people is led, of what they are led to believe. And through all that we can see how much Cyerene has grown up. She is not the naïve girl who came to the castle to be an Affiliate, she’s not afraid of her power and of her own self anymore.

 

The story takes a different direction in this book and I really enjoyed it. The twists will keep you on your toes and I think the new direction is just what was missing. After an ending like the one in this book I can’t wait for the next book and to see what more the story brings!

 

And despite it being a fantasy book, The Bound still has some of K.A. Linde’s distinctive traits in writing, like the angst and the strength in her heroines. It’s all about girl power in this book. And although the heroine is obviously an independent girl, she can still rely on her love interest for strength. And her independence and defiance is exactly waht draws him to her. Which makes for a great love story. The book has plenty of romance, but I like how the romance in it doesn’t make the story the background. The story is just as important and the romance is just an aspect of it (a great one, though).
You can say by now I’m a “professional reader”. I have been reading hardcore-ly for over 17 years now and with almost 3000 books read in my “curriculum”, I’d say I’m a pretty good judge of characters (pun intended). With most of the books I just have this feeling of how something might go, or of what’s going on. And since I started The Bound I was waiting for the moment a new character would be introduced and I’d REALLY connect with him. I was expecting a him after all. And I’m almost always wary of them, when they appear because there’s always the doubt that they won’t be the one for me. That characters you just know is right for the hero or heroine. One of the reasons I’ve been avoiding love triangles for a while now, they make me too anxious. But then when you instinctually know? It’s literary magic! And that is what K.A. Linde did with the Bound!

 

And that’s not an easy feat. The author must really know their writing to do something like that. And to also create a world where the reader can feel like they’re inside, like they’re a part of.

 

Incredbly intricate, full of intrigue and mystery, The Bound is the kind of book that, just as its name says, will bound the readers to this magical world K.A. Linde has created!

 

 

buy the book

 

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

