Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet #1) by Aly Martinez

 

image

 

Hi again, everyone!!

 

Before I start I have a question for you, I’m thinking about changing the name of this “Carol Impressions” colum to “Review Express” or “Express Review”, what do you think?! Tell me in the comments which one do you think it’s better!

 

So, I read Retrieval by Aly Martinez last week, when it was released. It’s a fantastic book. I guarantee you’ve never read a book like it, the storyline is so fresh!!!

 

And Aly Martinez made the USA Today’s list of bestsellers!! How amazing is that?!!!!  I’m very happy for her, it was definitely well deserved. Retrieval was AMAZING!

 

Oh, and the sequel is being released on SEPTEMBER 27th!!! YOu can  PRE-ORDER it already!

 

sinopsis

 

 

image

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

 

 

MY RATING: 4.5 BEAUTIFUL Beastly stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

 

This story was SO SURPRISING! I LOVE when authors surprise us and Aly Martinez did it masterfully! I’ve mentioned before, but I don’t read blurbs anymore before reading books (with rare exceptions). A friend read an ARC and mentioned it in a reading group we both belong to saying we simply HAD to read Aly’s upcomg book. As soon as I could I got it. And she was right. This is a book you simply CAN’T PASS! It’s the kind of story that is so different that if you don’t read it, you’ll be missing out.

 

Retrieval has a plotline so clever and different. It’s something I’ve never seen before and it made me think “how did that come to the author’s mind???”. And the way Aly Martinez wrote it, it complemented the plotline perfectly!

 

We’ve all at least heard of second-chance romances and Retrieval is not only a perfect example of what that kind of romance is, but also so very different from anything I’ve ever read. I LOVED how the focus was on the main characters’ present relationship instead of the past one. The past is mentioned, but the story explains it even better than if we’d have been given the whole background story in separate chapters, or even more explanations.

 

This is a book that the storytells itself. It’s rare when we get stories that don’t read like they’re being told by someone. It’s almost like it’s been written by itself. And it shows a great deal of talent on the author’s side.

 

The characters felt very real and they are so relatable. They could definitely be real people we see in real life, in our day-to-day basis. I love when fiction feels so real we don’t even remember we’re actually reading a book.

 

I’m really curious about what the second book will bring. Challenges (more of them) are definitely in the characters’ way and it’ll be a pleasure to see them overcoming these challenges.

 

Congratulations, Aly, on a GREAT work!!

 

 

buy the book

 

RETRIEVAL

 

PRE-ORDER TRANSFER (BOOK 2)

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Carol's Impression, Mini-Review

Leave a Reply

