ARC Review: Rhapsody (The Bellator Saga #5) by Cecilia London

 

image

 

Hi everyone!!

 

If you follow me on Social Media (Facebook and on IG as @beautyandthebeastlybooks) you saw I was traveling through Europe. I LOVED my vacation and I came back full of ideas, but also full of work in college. So once again, bare with me while I update the blog. I already updated my “book photos” and I have some newer ones to upload.

 

But today is time for a BOOK REVIEW!!! If you don’t know already I’ve been SHOUTING OUT about the Bellator Saga books by Cecilia London for more than a year, since I read the ARC for the first book, Dissident. Now book 5, Rhapsody, is being released tomorrow and after it, we only have one more book for the series to be complete! Talk about a book journey!!

 

So here is my review and rating. I hope you enjoy it and you give this series a chance! It’s one of my favorite series and you don’t have to like politics to enjoy it. If you like a good story and well written books, these are definitely for you!!

 

 

 

 

sinopsis

 

 

cover

“I’m never going to stop loving you, Caroline. It’s just not possible.”


Major Caroline Gerard returns from a dangerous mission battered and bruised. Terrified to confront the emotional and physical gap between her and her husband, she’s determined to do whatever it takes to avoid reality.

Commander Jack McIntyre has been tasked with saving American democracy, but he has to save his marriage first. He’s desperate to regain the passionate connection that he and his wife once shared. And a man on a mission will sacrifice anything to succeed.

In the meantime, the rebellion is in need of a catalyst to spur international action to stop President Santos’ increasingly unstable behavior. As Caroline and Jack repair their hearts, each day brings new secrets and new challenges, and a revelation that could shatter everything they thought was true.

Rhapsody is the fifth book in The Bellator Saga. It should be read after the first four books in the series.

 

 

MY RATING: 4.5 Beastly Stars

 

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

Warning: This review is spoiler free, but it might contain minor spoilers from the previous books, if you haven’t read them.

 

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

 

 

It’s been more than a month since I’ve read Rhapsody and I’m still passionate about it!
The whole Bellator Saga series holds a special place in my read books! I really like how Cecilia started Caroline’s journey in Dissident and how the story progressed from there!

 

The story took a different turn from what it used to be and so did the story telling. Cecilia is giving he characters the voice they need to tell us their story and in Rhapsody I’m really glad Jack took over! The story is istill in third person (which is something I LOVE, because is my preferred narration method in books) and Caroline is still the star of the story. But now we can see Jack shining!

 

Since he first appeared in Dissident I fell in love with him. I loved him both individually and in the Caroline-Jack couple. But I didn’t knew how much I could love him for just being Jack. I loved that he was Caroline partner and both of them together made one of my all time favorite couples. But in Rhapsody, Cecilia brings us a side of Jack we haven’t seen before. And it’s a side I’m REALLY glad I got to meet.

 

Jack still has all the traits that made me love him. He is loyal, passionate, cocky (in a good way) and HOT! But in this book we get to see his traits being more explored and they are so much more than I thought before!

 

Not that Caroline doesn’t shine! She does. And for different reasons from how she used to shine. She’s learning to adapt to her new self and I love that as readers we feel like we are learning along with her! In my review of Phoenix I mentioned she frustrated me a lot (and I have to say this, shw frustrated me but with reason. She is one of the few characters I can’t fault for being frustrating,mgoing through all that she went through!). The new Caroline is just as strong and brave as the old one used to be, but she is still learning to adjust to her new reality. And I feel like the reader (at least I did) felt that a lot in Phoenix. Now she is giving herself a chance, so it was much easier for me to give her a chance as well! She still has a long way to go though. But I’m sure our girl will get there!!!

 

In this book, the characters lives and what has been going on with them took the central stage from the political background going on America. There’s one book left still and I feel like we will finally see what we are looking forward so much in it! I can’t wait to see a Caroline and Jack face-off with Santos! Even if that doesn’t happen like that, I’m looking forward to seeing what will happen from now on! Caroline deserves her revenge, either she acts on it or it is America being free again! And she deserves happiness. So does Jack. Preferrably together.

 

I’m so curious about what’s going on with some other characters. Cecilia has purposedly kept us in the dark about some of them and I have a feeling she’ll unleash a really powerful ending to this story on us. And I can’t wait to be punched in the face with it! Because Cecilia is an author who can pack a damn powerful punch! And being knocked out of my socks by a good book is what I hope every time I start a new read!!

 

Rhapsody is a powerful read. But different than the other 4 books in the series. I’ve mentioned before that some of them are SO powerful and punch us in the face with it. But others, like Phoenix, have a quiet power to them. Rhapsody is the book that comes right before the final book. The final blow to us, readers. So for me it is the book that is keeping watch while the final ones comes and ambushes us and took us completely by surprise.

 

It might not be as blatantly powerful as Dissident and (specially) Conscience, but it is exactly what the story needs at this point. It’s perfect for what we readers need from the Bellator Saga. PLUS, Cecilia is bringing sexy back!!!! Caroline and Jack have always been a very sexual couple (quite kinky too), but now they’re maturing. They are not getting old and boring, but their sexuality is different. I fell like there’s a tenderness now to them that there wasn’t there before. They were tender, but now it’s more. They’ve akways loved each other, but at leat to me, everything they do together now means so much more! Because they had to go through SO MUCH to get here. Don’t worry, it has sexy times. It’s erotic and romantic. Jack is onw of the most romantic guys out there! And SO PATIENT! Even he can get frustrated, but he is SO patient and sweet about it. Not to mention sexy. Jack is so sexy (*pictures him in a Commander uniform*)!

 

Have I mentioned how I love Natalie???! At the beginning of Phoenix I told Cecilia I probably wouldn’t like her (I was jealous), but I love her! In Phoenix she acted almost like Cecilia’s own voice in the story, but now she’s more than that. She’s a true friend and I love her moments with both Jack and Caroline. I love when Caroline gets her humor back!! Plus there are new characters more explored in this book and they, and their interactions with the main characters, are funny too!

 

image

 

Rhapsody not only is the scout for what’s coming in the final book, but it is the book that leads us to the final lap of Caroline (and Jack)’s story and I have to say for my self that I’m in no rush to get there! I really enjoy this story as a whole. Wait, who am I kidding, I’m in serious rush for the final book! Cecilia, give it to me already!!! LOL
BUT seriously, I can’t wait to be sucker punched by what it’s yet to come!! Be free to knock me over anytime, Cecilia!!

 

 

 

buy the book

RHAPSODY goes live tomorrow (September 13th), but here is the link:

 

AMAZON

 

 

OHHHHH and Cecilia currently has a GIVEAWAY for a SIGNED copy of Rhapsody on Goodreads (US only). HERE IS THE LINK.

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

