Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Ruthless People (Ruthless People #1) by J.J. McAvoy

 

image

 

Hi everyone!!

 

I read this book a few months ago and I LOVED the series. Took me so long to finally read it! And the 4th book, A Bloody Kingdom, comes out tomorrow/today!!

 

 

sinopsis

 

image

 

To the outside world, they look like American Royalty, giving to charities, feeding the homeless, rebuilding the city. But behind closed doors is a constant battle for dominance between two Bosses, cultures, and hearts.

Ruthless People is a romantic crime fiction set in modern day Chicago, following the life and marriage of Melody Nicci Giovanni and Liam Callahan—rivals by blood and leaders through fear. Their marriage was arranged by their fathers in hopes to end years of bloodshed between the Irish and the Italians.

Liam, next in line to lead the Irish, believes he’s getting a simple-minded wife, one he can control, one who bends to his every need . . . the complete opposite of Melody. Bred to be a Boss, a world-class marksman, master of disguise, with no mercy and no fear. Twenty-four years later, she has achieved more than any man could even dream of, killing anyone who steps in her way. She knows exactly what type of man Liam is, and she would rather die than give up the power she has spent her whole life building. But with no other family left, she must not only learn to work with Liam, but the whole Callahan clan.

The Mafia of the past is evolving, and with rival bosses gunning for them, Melody and Liam will have to figure out how to work as one to take down those who stand in their way, all while keeping up appearances.

Power, Family, and Respect are everything.

Warning: This book contains adult language and subject matter including graphic violence and explict sex that may be disturbing for some readers. This book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

MY RATING: 4.5  Beastly stars

 

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

Ruthless People has been on my TBR list since it was released. I loved the cover and I was intrigued by it, but somehow I didn’t read it before. I had no idea what I was missing. I got obsessed about this series. I only ever read one book by J.J. McAvoy then, That Thing Between Eli & Gwen, which was very good, but very different than The Ruthless People series.

 

I don’t usually go for Mafia books, but this one was a (nice) surprise! It’s different than the other mafia books I’ve read, not only because of the plot and J.J. McAvoy’s writing (which is superb), but also because of the heroine.

 

Liam was a done deal for me, I fell in love with him pretty fast. But Mel? It surprised me how much I loved her. She is so no-nonsense and as ruthless as any men. She’s strong and a total badass!!! When I grow up I wanna be like her.

 

It’s not often I get so taken by the heroines, but in this case I really do have a girl crush on Mel. She’s super baddass and it was very refreshing to read a book that doesn’t have a heroine that needs rescuing, or who isn’t a delicate flower. I like those too, when written well. But I love when we get spunky heroines. Don’t get me wrong though, Mel is totally independent and takes everyone, including Liam, by a storm. But she also has a more delicate and sensitive side to her. Not an innocent or “girly” one, but a vulnerable side that doesn’t come out often or for just anyone. She was a real pleasure to read about!

 

I LOVE when I find books that mess with my head and my perception of “right” and “wrong” and this whole series do it! I saw myself rooting for people that, in real life, I probably wouldn’t. And that is the beauty of good writing! We see the people behind the mafia, and I couldn’t help falling in love with them (ALMOST the whole Family 😉 )!!

 

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Carol's Impression, Mini-Review

2 responses to “Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Ruthless People (Ruthless People #1) by J.J. McAvoy

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books of the Month (and Extra Recommendations): May 2016 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  2. Pingback: Carol’s Favorite Books of 2016 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

