ARC Review: Sweet Jayne by K. Webster

 

image

 

Happy Monday, everyone!!

 

Today’s review is for one of my favorite kind of books: a mind f***!!!

 

sinopsis

 

 

image

Nadia Jayne’s world is full of villains.

Kasper thinks he hates her.
Donovan thinks he loves her.
Logan thinks he owns her.

Sweet Jayne is a complicated girl…

She needs Kasper.
She hides from Donovan.
She has a plan for Logan.

But maybe complicated Jayne isn’t so sweet after all…
In fact, she might just be the biggest villain of them all.

WARNING: Story contains dark taboo themes and violence both sexual and physical which could trigger emotional distress in reader.

 

 

 

 

MY RATING: 4 EFFED UP Beastly Stars

 

 

4 stars

4 stars

4 stars

4 stars

 

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

 

Well, I just finished Sweet Jayne in under two hours. This is definitely a book that will hook you! From all the books by K. Webster I have read, this one is my favorite. It might seem weird that I’ve rated other books by her 5 stars and this one a 4 though.

 

The story is perfect. I had part of it figured out pretty early, but it doesn’t mean she didn’t surprise me. She did. Half of the big mystery was solved by me and when other parts unsolved I really liked it. As I’m saying the story is really really good! At first the we might think we’ve seen this plotline, but the way K. Webster unveils it is completly new and fresh. I don’t consider most “dark reads” dark. I’m what people my call a “sicko” when it comes to this sort of reading, but I admit I consider this one a dark one. I’ve read darkest books for sure, but the l but vel of mind f****ry K. Webster manages to achieve is different. She always manages to f*** with our heads someway, even if it’s in the most “innocent” way. The simplests things can f*** with us in her books.

 

I can’t praise Sweet Jayne enough. This 4 stars rating from me might as well be a 5 from most readers, but I’m the sort of reader who can’t just ignore the things that bother me in a story (and I admit, I’m way too picky, more this year). And when the story is so good any minor detail that might bother me, keeps poking at me. Some of them are a matter of taste, some aren’t (mostly the ones which could have been fixed by some beta reading or editing). I think that some parts from the middle towards the ending might have gotten a bit confusing and kimd of different than what they were intended from the beginning, mostly regarding Donovan and Jayne, but others regarding other characters as well. But in the end, how those parts developed made up for it overall.

 

I might be the rare breed of reader who doesn’t kiss ass. Even when I love a story I’m still honest (and brave, because some fangirls minght want to descend on me, which will only make me laugh to tell the truth) enough to say I miss something in the story. I don’t usually write complete reviews for books I don’t like, which is not the case here. I actually loved the way Sweet Jayne messed with my head!

 

The story here is equally f***ed up and captivating and intriguing (maybe because it is effed up). And because I liked it so much, anything I miss may seem bigger than it might be for others, so be patient with me. I definitely recommend this book and it is the kind of story that will poke at your head when you finish it! You’ll keep thinking about it for sure!!

 

image

 

I really liked how the story progressed and even though the second half towards the ending isn’t rushed (I liked the pace of the story, it was done right so the reader won’t get confused), I think it needed more attention, though. I wanted a few more details in the second half and some more developing in some parts. I’m glad it brought me some surprises though, because I got a big and important part of the mystery quite early (as someone who loves this kind of genre and someone who, not only has been a reader since I was 4, but also someone who has written stories since I was a kid, I have quite the imagination ahaha). I love being surprised like this by K. Webster. I like when we have surprises like this in a book, that are there because of the story and not for shock value. And she definitely kept me on my toes. Until the very end I was still in the edge of my sit watching out for something else that might happen! LOL

 

K. Webster is definitely the kind of author that when she announces a new book I’ll keep my eye out for it. I might not have loved every book I’ve read of hers, but I always know she’ll bring something new and different for me to read. Her books are so worth being checked out, specially her dark and twisted ones!!

 

From page one in Sweet Jayne I also got hooked on the heroine’s love interest. At some point K. Webster got me thinking I might have to deal with a love triangle and even though I don’t like those I wasn’t worried. Mostly because I knew WHO I loved and who I think our heroine loved and whom I thought she had to end up with. I’m one who isn’t fased by most taboo love sets. I like most of them. I’d say 90% of them are okay to me and this one is the kind of one I particularly enjoy reading about. If it’s done right. And she did it great! I think at firts it might have needed some polishing because from the beginning to the middle and the end something doesn’t add up for me, but I see why it was done like that and where she wanted to go, so it’s all good.

 

image

 

I’m very very picky, I know. And no matter how much I love an author and their writing, as I said, I’m not one to kiss ass. Specially when it’s a genre I really like, or even an author I’m used too, I’m almost always exigent about it. And I like to keep it real. And it’s because of books like this. That even though I didn’t give my maximum stars rating, I still love it enough to be one of my favorites. I have to remain honest and rate it 4 stars, but I’m also honest enough to say that it’s a damn good one! So good it’s a favorite. It might be rare, but sometimes our feelings about a book surpasses rating numbers. I think that sometimes people get too attached to those (which might be the root for dishonest reviews or ass kissing). It’s not something that happens often, but when we love a book beyond the ratings I believe it’s a book worth reading and an author worth of keeping our eyes out for.
Sweet Jayne might have a few minor flaws for me, but it’s still a masterpiece in my opinion. It delivers what we crave as readers, at least what I crave as a reader: a good and well built story, characters that bring reality to it and good writing! Even if you figure something out, it will still surprise you and I can say for myself I LOVE being surprised and mind f****ed by a book like this!

 

If K. Webster keeps writing books like this I’ll sure keep reading them!!

 

 

 

 

buy the book

 

Sweet Jayne will be  LIVE tomorrow (May 31st) but you PRE-ORDER it now!

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

