Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Saving Evangeline by Nancee Cain

 

image

 

Hi everyone!!

 

So this week I plan to have some posts between Favorite Books and more reviews, including ARC reviews. And my first of the new posts is a Mini-Review type of post of a book I read last year that I LOVED!

 

So, let’s get to it…

 

sinopsis

 

 

saving evangeline

Evangeline is the town pariah. Everyone knows she’s crazy and was responsible for the death of her last boyfriend. Even her mother left her and moved cross-country. Lonely and desperate, Evie decides to end her life.

Rogue angel Remiel longs to return to earth, but there’s just one problem. He tends to invite trouble and hasn’t been allowed back since Woodstock. The Boss sends him to save Evangeline, but there’s a catch: he can’t reveal his angelic nature, and he must complete the task as Father Remiel Blackson.

Forced together on a cross-country trip, a forbidden romance ignites and love unfolds. A host of heavenly messengers tries to intervene, but Remiel and Evangeline are headed on a collision course to disaster. Will his love save her, or will they both be lost forever?

 

 

MY RATING: 4.5 BEAUTIFUL Beastly stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

I found  Saving Evangeline on Amazon after clicking another book and I couldn’t get it out of my head. I was immediately drawn to its cover and I LOVE stories about angels. But if you don’t read paranormal-kind of books you will still like it too. Nancee Cain’s writing style and brilliantly fresh sense of humor will DEFINITELY get to you!

 

Saving Evangeline is a BEAUTIFUL story! I wouldn’t really call it paranormal, but then how would we call a story about Angels? But as I mentioned you can hate paranormals and still enjoy this story. And that’s is one of my favorite things about Evie and Remi’s story, how real it is, despite it having such an “impossible” aspect to it. It was very easy to relate to it. And to the characters, specially Evangeline.

 

Another thing I loved about this story is the author’s sense of humor and how she wrote about God and some of the saints we know. The sense of humor didn’t make the story (and the characters) less intense and real, it actually added to them! It somehow made them more “aproachable” and even though I laughed at their jokes (God is a REALLY funny character), the fact they seemed so relatable just shows how good of a story-teller Nancee Cain is. After all it’s not easy to make God approachable and looking like a human, but still no powerful and flawless.

 

Remiel is my kimd of guy, or should I say, angel? He doesn’t play by the rules, he is naturally a rebel (which I related A LOT), but he is about to be schooled by the Boss. And I loved how God taught him His lesson!

 

Evangeline is a beautiful, flawed character. Remiel has his flaws too and the beauty of the story is how a being that is supposed to be perfect is indeed flawed and can learn so much from a “mere” human. And also how the human in question, flawed as she is, is still perfect in her own way. It’s beautiful to see someone who is so misunderstood (specially by her own self) realizing she is indeed beautiful, in her own quircky way!

 

I also loved how the story ended, it was unexpected, I thought it would go in a different (yet, seen so many times by me) direction and I’m glad it didn’t. I’m glad it was so unexpected. Nancee definitely kept me on my toes and I enjoyed it so much!!

 

I have no complains about the story or characters or the writing. They were all great. This is a BEAUTIFUL story (even though I wanted it to be a bit longer, to see more developments in some areas).

 

If you’re looking for a story that is BEAUTIFUL and yet so REAL, Saving Evangeline is it. It has the perfect ammount of depth and humor. It’ll keep your attention and it will captivate you. Also, Remiel is SO FREAKING HAWT!!!

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Carol's Impression, Mini-Review

Leave a Reply

