ARC Review: Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

 

image

 

Hello everyone!! Happy Tuesday!!

 

So, I read and ARC of Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins yesterday and decided to post my review here. I was going to do a Carol’s Impressions (Mini Review) post of it, but made up my mind about posting a review.

 

sinopsis

 

 

image

Sadie Hunt isn’t perfect—but her husband is. Nathan Hunt has her coffee waiting every morning. He holds her hand until the last second. He worships the Manhattan sidewalk she walks on. Until one day, he just…stops. And Sadie finds herself in the last place she ever expected to be. Lonely in her marriage.

When rugged and sexy Finn Cohen moves into the apartment across the hall, he and Sadie share an immediate spark. Finn reveals dreams for a different life. Sadie wants to save her marriage. Their secrets should keep them apart, not ignite a blistering affair. But while Sadie’s marriage runs colder by the day, she and Finn burn hotter.

Her husband doesn’t want her anymore.
The man next door would give up everything to have her.

 

 

 

MY RATING: 4 Beastly Stars

 

 

4 stars

4 stars

4 stars

4 stars

 

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

 

I love a book that can make us change our opinions about the characters over the whole story. Slip of the Tongue is one of them.

 

When I first started reading it, I thought this story would be like Arsen by Mia Asher, although I didn’t like the other guy in that book I immediately liked the one in this. Until I kept reading I was certain I had a “team”. I don’t read many love triangles. In fact, I hate them. Unless they are written in a right way, which Slip of the Tongue is.

 

At first I didn’t like Nathan and I was certain I had every reason not to, but that shows Jessica Hawkin’s writing skills. I didn’t have any motive to dislike him besides the point of view of Sadie, our heroine. We didn’t have all the information enough to dismiss him, nor me or her. I’m not saying he was right, because he wasn’t. He was actually kind of a jerk in the way he dealt with his marriage after years of promises.

 

And while I really liked Finn, I started to see him in a different light too! I don’t doubt he loved Sadie, soulmates and everything…but I do believe he jumped ahead of himself. He was trapped in a loveless life himself and holding on to Sadie (we learn why in the story), was his lifeline. Or so he thought.

 

Now Sadie…I liked her a lot when I thought she was just a wife that had been shut down by her husband. And then I started to see the other side of hers, the selfish one. Yes, her husband enabled her egoistic ways, so it was a bit his fault, and I don’t think it’s fair to acuse someons of being selfish when you make them that way. But on the other side, she was also kind of selfish by herself. She chose not to see some things and only see her side, which is a forgivable flaw, after all we are all programmed to see our sides first.

 

Now, The best thing about this story for me is the fact that we can see it infolding from different angles and, because of it, see it in different lights. The story is all told in Sadie’s POV, but while it unfolds we can see the different angles.

 

We get Sadie, the Sadie that is right to feel sad and abandoned by her husband and we get selfish Sadie. We get Sadie’s Nathan, the Nathan that is kind and perfect and does everything for hee, but we also get the other Nathan, the one Sadie doesn’t see. The one that wants to include her and she doesn’t even realise (she doesn’t even remember when he asks her things and invites her, because she is so focused on what he doesn’t do, or what she wants him to do). And we get Finn. Beautiful, sweet, sexy Finn. But he also has an egoistical way about him. He assumes things and wants Sadie for himself, but he doesn’t take in account the fact she might actually love her husband, so different than his own situation.

 

This book surprised me a lot. Although towards the end it ran a bit flat for me. There were a few lose ends for my tastes and also things I didn’t like how they ended up or I wish were done differently so I could have less of those “lose ends”. I also didn’t like how the characters dealt with some of what they had. In this particularly case I missed another chaper or even an epilogue…it might have taken care of some of my “questions” (the book has a definite ending, so it’s not a cliffy kind of thing I’m left questioning).

 

These didn’t prevent me from enjoying this book, I couldn’t stop reading and either to make me fall in love, swoon, want to cry or slap them, the characters truly speak to the reader. Jessica Hawkins did a great job with Slip of the Tongue and ai’ll be sure look out for more of her work!

 

buy the book

 

Slip of the Tongue will be released on Thursday, Feb 25th, but you can already PRE-ORDER it for 0.99!

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

2 responses to “ARC Review: Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

  1. Thank you for reading! I love that you were able to see the different sides of each character. Appreciate the review!

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books of the Month (and Extra Recommendations): February 2016 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

