Carol’s Impression (Mini Review): Affairytale by C.J. English

Hey everyone!

 

I hope you’re having a good weekend so far! As you can see the blog has a new face. I had a photoshoot with my paperbacks and althought the photos aren’t all ready, I couldn’t resist already uploading some…

 

I plan to have other changes in the blog too and one of them is a new “series” called Carol’s Impressions. These will be “mini-reviews” of the latest books (or not lol) I’ve read. I always write my first impressions of the books on my Goodreads page before I write a full review and since I not always have the time (or even the inclination to write a full review, if I didn’t like the book), I decided to post these smaller reviews here too!

 

And the first one is about a very intriguing and different book I read a couple weeks ago…Affairytale by C.J. English!

 

sinopsis

 

affairytaleI had an affair. The most forbidden and seductive affair, and fell in Love.

He was a rare gentleman, intelligent and gorgeous; a man every woman desired. Every cell in my body was telling me that he was my happily ever after.

I was stuck in a marriage of mediocrity, I ached for red silk romance and carry me away passion, but not with my husband. I craved Him.

Living without him was cruel and unusual punishment, even for my wandering heart.

Affairytale is a tantalizing memoir of sultry encounters, hidden grottos and secret hillside cabins. From the Land of Ten Thousand Lakes to the Southern shores of Maui you’ll fall in love with this tell-all memoir that pulls back the veil on infidelity and gives you rare look into hearts and bedroom of a real life extramarital affair.

Woven with original love letters and scandalous text messages, this engrossing true love story is sure to break then win your heart.

True Love always finds a way.
Sometimes…it starts with an affair.

 

MY RATING: 4 Beastly stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars

 

 

MY IMPRESSIONS:

 

Due to the fact this book is actually a memoir, the things I’m criticizing will sound personal, which is not really my intention. I’m not questioning either if it’s happened or not. And what I didn’t like, it was because to me, as a reader, it sounded unreal and I wasn’t considering if it happened to the author or not. I read the book as a story and as a story some things didn’t sit quite well with me.

 

I love the second chance romance aspect of this story and even though I didn’t care for Levi at all, I caught myself thinking how the heroine treated him badly. Yes, I could see she didn’t want to be with him, but honestly? Why stay so long with a man you clearly don’t love if it’s just to yell and treat him badly and blame him for everything??

 

I am reviewing this as a book, so I gotta look at them as characters, and I don’t mean to judge the author and her actions, and although I get them and the reasons behind it, I don’t have to like them.

 

At first I liked Grant, he was very dreamy. But  I’m not sure if it happened this way or it was the way he was portraited in writing, but he seemed so cold towards her at times, specially in the first half of the story. I get he was reticent about loving her and declaring himself, but to me it seemed like he was playing with her emotions… He did redeem himself though!  The one thing I didn’t like about him (and the heroine) was the way they talked to each other, specially in texts and emails…I’m sorry but it sounded just a tad too teen-ish. All the “baby’s” didn’t sound really real to me and had me rolling my eyes a LOT…so it took me a while to take Grant seriously.

 

The back issue! OMG I can’t imagine what she has been through! And it was CRAZY what was causing it!!!!

 

Overal I liked the story, I liked all the coincidences, how they met and everything. Although I don’t agree with cheating, I don’t judge people for it, each person know their story, what they are living and their heart. Only they know.

 

Oh and the title? I LOVE it!!!

 

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under Mini-Review

Leave a Reply

