Book Review: Roomates by Erin Leigh (Tara Brown)

Hey everyone!!

 

So, as usual I’m late with this review…I read the ARC before it was published and I loved it! If you don’t know, Erin Leigh is the contemporary/funny romance side of Tara Brown, one of my all time favorite writers!!

 

sinopsis

RoomatesLife is full of expectations.
For Brady Coldwell it’s always been about the game.
Hockey is and always will be, his life.
His family sacrificed everything to get him here and he won’t let them down.
He knows what’s expected of him.
Natalie Banks is no different.
She too knows what it means to have everyone sacrifice for you.
She knows about the debt that’s left owing in the end and the price you pay for making up your own mind.
But when an innocent mistake lands them as roommates, neither of them is prepared for the feelings they have or the consequences of their actions.
How do you negotiate matters of the heart?
How do you say no when it simply feels so right?

 

MY RATING: 4.5 Beastly stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***** ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion *****

 

I absolutely LOVE Tara Brown writing as Erin Leigh. Her sense of humor is so great!!! I love how she deals with things in a funny way and how it works for her writing style.

 

I knew from the blurb Roomates would be my kind of book. I LOVE romantic comedies like this one and it didn’t disappoint!

The heroine is super funny, love Nat! And our hero, BJ? Tara NAILED making him the perfect guy. Not perfect as in flawless, but perfect because he is SUCH A GUY! I mean, he is sort of a man slut, he treats girls as if they were disposable…until he finds the PERFECT girl. Not only for him, but for any other guy….Nat is hot, she plays videogames (and is a BADASS at it), she doesn’t cook, but compensates in being awesome (if you didn’t get that I fell in love with him over his guy ways, I did when he started COOKING!!)!

 

I loved that this book didn’t have a complicated plotline, it was a fun ride and I truly enjoyed it alongside with the charactes. I mean, a story about a manwhore changing his ways when he finds the perfect girl for him? Plus, Roomates had some HOT scenes!!! Brady and Nat’s chemestry is undeniable and I LOVED when they gave in to it! The problem with those two wasn’t admiting they were attracted to each other, though. It was admiting to themselves they actually wanted it.

 

Nat’s boyfriend is a douche, I mean, Brady is a manwhore, but he is a nice guy. But the way Nat acted on it and got her revenge was EPIC!!! I want to do that too one day (as long as I find myself a Brady too!! )! Her parents though? They were CRAZY! The good kind of crazy!

 

One of the things I enjoyed this story so much, is that even though it’s a funny, uncomplicated read, it was a well-done one. I love that the love story was built and the characters (and us, the readers) had the time to get to know each other and fall in love. It wasn’t rushed.

 

The secondary characters were great too and now I want Matt and Sami’s story too!!! I’m very curious about those two!!!

 

Roomates is the kind of romantic comedy that should be turn into a movie ASAP, because I would go watch it at the movies over and over! I want to be a part of Tara’s next book as Erin Leigh, because it looks like the characters have so much fun together!!!

 

I had a sports romance only phase, I’ve read almost all of Jaci Burton’s Play-By-Play series and the hockey one is one of my favorites, so I enjoyed this aspect of Roomates too. It’s always great to find a new hot player to love. Even the ones who are manwhores and ocasional pigs towards women. Brady did compensate for that though.
I love all the action involved in hockey! I wish we had it, but then we would have to have snow and I don’t think I’m ready for snow in Brazil hahaha.

 

Oh another thing I LOVED, is the fact that Nat could be you or me. Starting with her job…she ends up working with something that became part of my own reality! And Tara did a great job describing it, because it’s something she knows (I love the sense of humour involving those kind of models, by the way ahaha)! Kudos for that part of the story as well!

 

I can’t for more of Tara’s releases, in any of her writing personas, because I absolutely ADORE her writing. No one does plot twists like her, even in her funny and romantic books, we can still find them!!

 

buy the book

 

AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

 

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

