ARC Review: The Allure of Dean Haper (The Allure #2) by R.S. Grey

Hey everyone!!

 

As usual, this review was supposed to have been posted before, on the release day. But then you already know my computer is shit right now and life is just too much sometimes.

 

Anyways, before I even begin to talk about the book, I need to CONGRATULATE R.S. Grey for the success!!! The last time I checked, The Allure of Dean Harper was sitting at #9 on Amazon and that is AMAZING! Rachel deserves all the success! She works hard on her books, from the concept, to the stories and to the covers, she does an AMAZING job of being an author. Plus she is the cutest ever! I love her videos and just everything Rachel! #FangirlAlert

 

 

sinopsis

 

 

From: LilyNBlack@Gmail.com
To: JosephineKeller@VogueMagazine.com
Subject: You’re a flippin’ idiot

Good morning my dear, naive friend,

I hope you’re enjoying a breakfast of regret and sorrow.

Why?

Because you sent me to work for Dean Harper, aka a control freak in a tailor-made suit. Sure he owns the trendiest restaurants in NYC, but c’mon Jo, his ego makes Kanye West look like the Dalai Lama.

He’s the type of guy that only hears the word “no” when it’s followed by “don’t stop.”

Working for Dean Harper would be like selling my soul to the devil…and before you say anything, I don’t care if the devil has punch-you-in-the-gut brown eyes and an ass to match. My soul isn’t for sale.

Regretfully yours,
Lily

The Allure of Dean Harper is a full-length standalone romance with overlapping characters from The Allure of Julian Lefray. Both books can be read separately. Chronologically, The Allure of Julian Lefray happens first.

MY RATING: 4 Beastly Stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

I’ve read all of R.S. Grey’s books and this one is the 5th I review ( I will post the links to all my reviews in the end of this review). What all of them have in common? They are all written with Rachel’s characteristic wit and funny banters!

 

I LOVE how natural Rachel’s dialogues are and how her characters could be you, me and our best friends.

 

In The Allure of Dean Harper we have a story involving Dean, Julian Lefray’s best friend, and Lily, who is the best friend of Jo, the heroine of The Allure of Julian Lefray. Dean and Lily are very different from Julian and Jo. For instance, Julian and Jo didn’t fight nearly as much as Dean and Lily. LOL

 

I LOVED Lily! She was sassy and funny and a great worker, besides a good friend. I also liked Dean. I do wish there were more of this two in the book, I mean, like in the process of fighting and sleeping together, like more courting or something. I feel like I missed a part of their story because when I saw I was at almost 90% of the book. It’s not a bad thing, but that would have made me connect with them a bit more and also wouldn’t have made me feel like I missed something in the story. To me, the big conflict all books have weren’t a big one, so when it was all resolved I felt like I was missing something.

 

Aside from that I really liked Dean and Lily’s story. I loved all their interactions with their friends and I wish there were more “fights” and banter between those two, because too much of it isn’t even enough, that’s how much I liked it!

 

Lily is a girl who is not afraid to work for what she wants. She has a food critique blog and also wants to work advicing restaurants about their food and drink menus. She is a GREAT mixologist and makes the perfect drinks (despite Dean being a jerk and saying her drinks needed more of this and more of that LOL), plus she really gets food. She has a gift to please people through knowing the perfect food and drinks for them.

 

Dean is a control freak. Specially when it comes to his restaurants and he belives he is successful because of it. He can’t let anyone take any small part of control in his business. Specially the hot new bartender telling him her drinks are better than the ones the paid to get on his menu. As the story progresses we see that Dean realizes he needs to let go of his control a bit. Otherwise he will be, not only alone, but very alone.

 

I liked to see the evolution in these two characters. Together and individually they truly grow up, specially Dean.

 

As I said I love R.S. Grey’s witty humor and funny stories and this one isn’t different. Some of the scenes in The Allure of Dean Harper made me laugh out loud! Rachel have the uncanny ability to make us laugh about things in a real way. She doesn’t force the funny in ther books, it’s smart and adorable.

 

I really do believe her characters could be friends I’d meet on the streets (and I would be so happy if that actually happened). Her heroines are sassy and have the kind of humor I appreciate on real life people, so I adore it in the book life ones! The heroes make me swoon and they are great companions to the heroines. They do make a team. They’re partners in crime (which remind me of a certain strip club scene that I LOVED LOL)  and in life and in everything funny.

 

I like that they didn’t instantly fall in love with each other, even though the attraction was there. I enjoyed how they had to kind of work for it, each in a way. I LOVE the fact that meeting each other made them see a different side of themselves. Not a side they knew, but a side of how they could be. The only problem is knowing if it will be worth it, or if the changes will change too much of them, specially Dean.

 

I think the Romantic Comedy genre is sometimes underestimated. Because they usually are lighter reads, some people may think they are silly or not as great, or just too easy to write. But I disagree. Writing stories that are truly funny is very difficult, because us readers can feel when it’s being forced. As for being silly? Well give me this kind of silly anyday because I LOVE it! The Romantic Comedy genre was being forgotten by me and I’m really glad I’ve found great new names to add to my favorites and Rachel’s is on my favorites list. Not only in the funny category but in every one of them! I love her writing and I love her characters and I wish her the best in everything she writes, because I don’t need proof that she is one of the best out there!

 

*************************

LINKS TO MY REVIEWS OF R.S. GREY’S BOOKS:

With This Heart

Scoring Wilder

The Duet

The Allure of Julian Lefray

 

 

buy the book

 

 

 
author

 

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things…everyday. 

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things funny. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

Carol
Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

