Book Review: Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan

Hello again, Bookworms!!!

 

Today I’m going to review another book. A book that I absolutely ADORED! It brought me back to what I loved about writing!!!

 

Grayson's Vow

 

sinopsis

 

 

Kira Dallaire is desperate.

Some challenges in life seem too hard to overcome. With little money, and even fewer options, the quick-witted and vibrant twenty-two-year-old needs to reinvent herself. Known for her generous heart and impulsive personality, she devises a survival plan, possibly her most outrageous idea yet.

Grayson Hawthorn is losing hope.

Some obstacles in life seem too hard to overcome. Betrayal definitely being one of them. With limited capital, and dwindling resources, he is attempting to resurrect his failing family vineyard, a self-imposed vow seemingly destined to fail. That is until a young woman enters his office with an outlandish, unexpected proposition impossible to refuse.

What begins as a temporary business arrangement, soon evolves into more as vivacious, spirited Kira challenges detached, arrogant Grayson to want more from life. To want more for himself. But as their wills clash and fiery passion ignites, they’ll realize that sometimes the past creates walls too difficult to climb, and that lies and deception rarely precede a happily every after.

As Kira and Grayson race toward their destiny, they will discover that some vows are meant to be broken, and others are worth risking everything for . . . even your very own heart.

THIS IS A STANDALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY LIBRA. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

MY RATING: 5 Dragonish Stars

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

First of all, I need to be honest with you, even though there’s no doubt Mia Sheridan is absolutely talented, I haven’t really connected with any of her books the way I did with Grayson’s Vow.

 

I mean, so far my only 5 stars for her books have been Archer’s Voice and even though I think it’s a BEAUTIFUL book and it deserves the 5 stars, I still missed a few things in it and I wish I connected more with it.

 

But then, reading is funny sometimes. We connect with stories in different ways. I’ve connected with lighter reads than I did with more complex ones. Every book appeals to us differently. And that is the beauty in reading. And in writing as well.

 

I haven’t read all the books in the Signs of Love series, most of them are standalones (some are duets) and that is the case with Grayson’s Vow.

 

From the moment I started it I liked it. The main characters, and some of the side ones, truly MAKE this story. What I loved most in Grayson’s Vow though, is that it isn’t an overly-complicated story. There’s no excessive (and unecessary) drama. Even when it was approaching subjects that most books tend to make a spectacle of drama about, Grayson’s Vow didn’t. It dealt with the character’s issues with realness.

 

And even though we mostly look for books that make us escape reality, for me at least, they still need to be real. Even paranormal books. Realness in a story is not about either it could be true or not. I’ts about making us readers connect with the story in a level that we could be living it. And as a writer, that is THE MOST difficult thing to achieve. Because it involves everything, it involves character construction, story telling, and talent. A whole lot of talent.

 

And that is what Mia Sheridan did with this book. Kira and Grayson could be anyone we meet. Even though they are far from “normal” people, they’ve dealt with the (shi**ty) hand life gave them and they’ve done it in a true way.

 

I absolutely LOVED the chemistry between those two. They were hilarious. There’s something about a love story about two people that seem incompatible and keep bickering at each other. And another thing I liked is that they didn’t realize they were attracted to each other just in the end of the story. That was just one of the obstacles they’ve had to deal with.

 

Imagine two people that haven’t met before. Two hard-headed, short-fused, attactive people, add to that a proposition that both need, a proposition that, even though they didn’t mean to at first, brought them together. Of course feelings will be mixed in there and I loved how Mia mixed these feelings!

 

If there was such a thing as a “Potion to Write a Good Story”, Grayson’s Vow would not only have all the right ingredients, but it would also have the perfect exectution.

 

I’ve said here in my blog that I used to write, almost 10 years ago. The love you all know I have for reading is NOTHING compared to my love for writing back then. And even though I wrote basically every day for almost 10 years too, I’ve never finished a story, because I always had a bunch of new ideas and the idea to finish a story never came. Until I read Grayson’s Vow. I haven’t even finished reading it and all these FEELS were making me CRAVE writing again. It is such an intense feeling to have the urge to create characters and a story. And all of a suddenly I have the outline of one of the last stories I’ve started writing. The complete outline. Grayson’s Vow is that kind of inspiring book.

 

It has the feels of the “old school” romance novels. Back in the day when we didn’t have indie books and this myriad of genres and different stories. We could say it was harder finding favorite books back then, because the books had to be different in the middle of all of the books. Now actually, the industry is a bit saturated too, so finding the different ones, the great ones is still hard. But when we find one that is different for bringing back what made reading great back then, we sure have a winner!

 

Grayson and Kira’s story is the epitome of a romance novel in my opinion. Today we have so many subgenres, but before we had then, we had these books with slightly jerky heroes, and spitfire heroines and they build a love story through the whole book and had to deal with challenges and made us laugh and swoon and want the book never to end. And that is how Grayson’s Vow made me feel. I even liked the epilogue, which isn’t something I enjoy in every book I read.

 

The story of the little witch and the dragon, and no, it’s not a paranormal book, just their bantering nicknames to each other (nicknames that were supposed to be “mean” but ended up being the opposite), will definitely captivate you! I guarantee it!

 

And even though not everything ended up as we thought it would, they made do with what they had, and they found new ways to keep their vow to each other. I mean, we think that the story will go to a direction, specially towards a punishment for Kiera’s father, but then they find new ways to be happy without it. And Kira’s immensely loved Grandmother helped her in a whole different way that she thougth she would. Her Grandma’s advice was even more valuable than what she had to give her.

 

Grayson had a LOT to overcome. He had a terrible childhood (even though it had it’s bright moments thanks to Walter and Charlotte), he spent years mulling over his brother’s betrayal, he spent years fawning over a woman that he loved and in the end he is  brought over to the light not for the vow he made to his father. No, what brightens his life is the little witch that appears in his life and changes it all. He no longer is that sullen man, he finally starts seeing that life can be good. And Kira is not the spoiled princess he, and everyone, thougth she was. Just the opposite. She feels partially responsible for what has happened in Grayson’s past, even though she had no role in that. But she wants to help him not for that, but because of all the advices her Grandma has given her, her whole life. She was thaught to help others, specially the ones that deserve.  And it seemed that, apart from Walter and Charlotte, she is the only only one that could see, from distance even, how deserving Grayson’s were. Deserving of a good life and love.

 

Grayson was swoon-worthy in a lot of ways and a jerk in others, but the kind of jerk I love. That jerk alpha male that isn’t a caveman, but who would stop anything to help the woman he loves. He was a jerk alright to Kira, specially when she didn’t deserved, but those moments just make the moments he attones for it even more precious.

 

I don’t know if you have this feeling too, but whenever the hero in the story hurts the heroine, my heart physically hurts. I have this feeling in my gut, and not at all just a feeling in my mind, it’s physicall too. And he makes me want to cry for her. And I LOVE that feeling, because I KNOW he will atone for it. Just like in the old romance books I used to read (old not like Austen books, old as in before the indie books). Grayson made me feel that way. And Kira sure handled him and I LOVED it!

 

I love how Mia Sheridan keeps us on our toes and when we think we have the story all figured out, she goes and surprises us, but not with excessive drama. Which I was very thankful!

 

Grayson’s Vow is a book that gives you all these FEELS, it’s amazing. It’s a compelling story about second chances and keeping your word, even though circumstances change. It’s a story about love, love for your family (because family is not only blood, it’s about the ones that love us, despite, and somtimes because of,  our flaws), love for your life and love for the ones that need it the most. Grayson’s Vow is a story that will make you giddy, will make you laugh out loud, will make you swoon, it may break a tiny bit of your heart, but it will heal it all. Because in love THERE is truth.

 

 

buy the book

 

 

 

XOXO

 

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Book Review: Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan

  1. Pingback: Christmas Wish List: Grayson from Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  2. Pingback: Carols Favorite Books of 2015 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

