Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: Dissident (The Bellator Saga #1) by Cecilia London

DissidentTour

 

Hi  everyone!!!

 

I’m so excited my date for this tour is finally here! I actually read Dissident by Cecilia London a while ago. It was funny because Cecilia sent me an ARC Request (and I loved it, because she specifically said I could be as honest as I wanted, wich is always something so good coming from authors) and we started talking but I actually forgot to respond her with an answer and I’m so glad a few weeks later she sent me another email, because I would have missed ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I’VE READ IN MY LIFE!!!

And the best part is that Dissident is currently FREE !!!

 

Tour: Dissident by Cecilia London

 

 

sinopsis

 

 

She once was important. Now she’s considered dangerous.

 

In a new America where almost no one can be trusted, Caroline lies unconscious in a government hospital as others decide her fate. She is a political dissident, wanted for questioning by a brutal regime that has come to power in a shockingly easy way. As she recovers from her injuries, all she has are her memories. And once she wakes up, they may not matter anymore.

 

Dissident is a blend of romantic suspense, contemporary romance, political thriller, and speculative fiction. Told mostly in flashback, it details the budding romantic relationship between our heroine, Caroline, and Jack, the silver fox playboy who tries to win her heart.

 

Part One of a Six Part Series. Each part is a full length novel between 60,000-120,000 words and ends in a cliffhanger. For readers 18+. This saga contains adult situations, including non-gratuitous violence, explicit (consensual) sex, psychological and physical trauma, and an oftentimes dark and gritty plot (particularly in part two).

 

MY RATING: 5 ++++++++ STARS

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

First of all, Dissident is one of those rare books that incite an almost supernatural feeling in me. From the blurb I was certain I would like it and I wasn’t wrong.

 

The prologue alone gave me goosebumps and made me want to cry and I couldn’t get enough of Caroline’s story.

 

Have you ever got so high on a book you can’t imagine what have you been doing that you didn’t read it before? Dissent is THAT kind of book and even after two months, I still the happy buzz only amazing books give me… I completely blame Cecilia London for this!! She has such a talent to write such a detailed and intricate story!!

 

It’s hard to describe this book, besides saying it’s AMAZING!!! It has a dystopian thing going on, but forget everything you know about dystopies. It has nothing to do with The Hunger Games or Divergent. It has nothing paranormal about it either. It’s a book about what happens to America five years from now, when a crazy politician takes over. So it’s not even a big leap in the future. It shows what 5 years in the wrong hands could do to the most powerful country in the world. But Dissident is mostly told in flashbacks from 5 years before, so far it isn’t exactly about the “new” America, which got me so curious!! We know Caroline and her husband are being chased and we have some idea of why, but we don’t know how that happened yet.

 

Dissident is the perfect beginning of their story, because in it, we get to know Caroline and Jack, before the sh***tstorm hits the fan. And let me tell you, I will BATTLE anyone for Jack McIntyre!! He is the type of hero that makes you swoon ALL THE TIME he appears on a page! He is a sexy slightly older millionaire that is also a politician. He is Republican while Caroline, our FIERCE heroine is a Democrate. And worse, Caroline once tried to discredit him. In her defense she was going through something really hard and painful. But not as hard and painful as what she has yet to face, though.

 

So Dissident is mostly a contemporary romance, with some sexy politicians…think the TV show Scandal with a hot Silver Fox and some mad writing skills from Ms. London!!! Oh and heroine and hero are in their late thirties and forties, which was so fresh!

 

For fans of angsty romances, Dissident is the book for you. And if you’re not a fan, I’d still encourage you to try it, because the story in this book can change your mind! Dissident is not only angsty, but it’s funny and gritty and it holds you captive from the first page to the last one!

 

“People never really think about the last time they’re going to have sex with someone,” she said. “The last time they’re going to kiss them goodbye. The last time they’ll hear the other person’s voice. We take our relationships, our spouses, our partners for granted until one day, poof, it’s over. Maybe we’d all be a little better off if we lived each day as if it might be the last.”

 

Caroline is my favorite kind of heroine (to me she’s in the league of Nora Sutherlin from the Original Sinners, my favorite series). She is fierce, yet sensitive. She is a woman of convictions and she stick to them. She’s an honest politician and she is funny as hell! She and Jack make a perfect partnership, after she gets her head out of whenever it was and realizes that! LOL

 

Caroline and Jack have a real relationship. A real love and they are such REAL characters. We get so immesed in their story, it’s almost like they’re breathing through the pages of the book! I fell in love immediately with both of them. And also with some of the side characters. They are perfect sidekicks! Caroline’s best friend is another politician, with ideals so different from her own. Christine is older than her and she is the Iron Lady. She NEVER shows her feelings, unless they are for Caroline and her daughters and her husband, Tom. Besides being so different and also so cold, Christine and Caroline have a real friendship. I also loved Tom, he is such a supportive character.

 

Jen and Katie are other characters I love! They are Caroline’s aids also fierce. This book is full of truly fierce women, something I miss in literature sometimes!

 

But despite having a political background, Dissident is very much a love story. After all, how can anyone resist Jack McIntyre??? He is sexy, sometimes kinky (more so in the second book – that I’ve already read and will be reviewing later), loyal, loves Caroline and her daughters and friends (even Christine who seems to HATE him). He is PURE alpha male, without being a fake one. The man is definitely HAWT!!!

 

dissident teaser 1

 

One of the things I most liked about this book is that Cecilia doesn’t use unnecessary drama in her story. Everything is right where they should be. Either if it’s a dialogue, or even a nickname (or lack of one). Everything about Dissident is so detailed, without being too much or boring. This book is packed in action, the story is always evolving.

 

It’s always hard for me to put into words books I love as much as I loved Dissident. You’ll only truly get it once you read it. It kept me up reading it and I just wanted more and more. The feelings it gave me!

 

Plus it is such an intelligently woven story! I mean, how crazy it is to think of a time where Americans don’t have their basic rights, the ones that are example to most of the world, anymore? Even crazier to think of Estates separating themselves within the country. To think a man who is so prejudiced could control the country. The background story in Dissent isn’t in the back at all! It’s much as part of the love story as the characters. The background makes the story as much as the characters, as much as the love story.

 

There are so many feelings involved in reading Dissident. There is angst, there is swooning, there are some fan-yourself hot moments, there is love, there is admiration. Once you start reading you can’t stop and you want to get to the bottom of it.

 

Yes, there is what most people would consider a cliffhanger. Although for me it wasn’t really a cliffy, because from the parts of the present, we kinda alreay know what is happening. For me a story that isn’t over isn’t necessarily a cliffhanger. Not when it’s done right. Book 2 has more of a cliffy than book 1, but still not much of one, because we just know there’s more to come! Dissident is the kind of story I don’t mind waiting (not too much though) for the other books. Because when you read it you get that these kind of story can’t be told in only one or two books and it can’t be rushed. There is so much to tell.

 

Caroline and Jack’s journey is only beginning, but once you start it, you’ll definitely want more. I related so much to Caroline. To her sense of humor, to her cursing, to her sense of justice. As a Law student myself, this book fascinated me, mostly because the Law system and the Political system here in Brazil is so different than in America. But even so, I could relate to it. This book is in no way a political propaganda. It’s a story set in a real world. In a real country and it’s so crazy, because it’s something that could actually happen (after all Hitler got his power through Democracy). It’s fascinating and intriguing and yet it isn’t really a political romance.

 

And although I said the background story is a part of the love story, which is true, Dissident is very much a love story, so it has the usual wanted suspects in a love story: a swoon-worthy hero, who is also completely ALPHA MALE, a witty heroine, some great dialogue, some HOT  and SEXY times, and love…a lot of love going on.

 

I definitely like the fact that Jack and Caroline build a relationship through time. It takes them months, specially Caroline, to make any sort of romantic moves. Actually it’s pretty much clear from the beginning how much Jack was infatuate with her. I absolutley LOVED seeing their relationship growing from a comfortable friendship into something more. They are true partners, despite of the adversties that are thrown in their way and despite Caroline’s stubborness and Jack’s secrecy. It’s always more gratifiying to see a relantionship growing and the two parts actually working to make it, well, work! It’s so much more real that way!

 

This series isn’t entirely in a specific niche, it’s got political subject, it’s got some smut (although it’s not overly smutty – thank God . Although there is some kink coming), it’s about the very near future (so tecnically it has a “dystopian” thing going) and it’s got contemporary romance vibes.

 

dissident teaser 3

 

So categorizing Dissident isn’t not easy. Wich I like. I love books that are out of the box, the “different” ones. Usually I call “different” the books that make me feel this much (The Original Sinners, Degradation by Stylo Fantôme, Rainfall…I’ve mentioned a few here in the blog). Dissident (and the sequel Conscience) are definitely on that list!

 

I still can’t belive how Cecilia keeps track of ther thoughts and ideas with a story like the Bellator Saga. It is seriously, one of the best books I’ve ever read!

 

Dissident is on my TOP 5 books of 2015 and as you know, I don’t make those lists, I usually have a list of favorites, but I don’t rank books between the favorites (Conscience, the sequel, is up there too – it’s actually the most angsty book I’ve ever read).

 

Cecilia London is my BIG discover of the year and I’m so very glad I gave her a chance, because the lady has LOADS of talent. Her talent speaks for itself in her books. It feels like you’re reading a classic, one of those classic sagas. I can’t wait for more of the Bellator Saga or even anything she writes. She has me 100% convinced and I don’t think she can write something I won’t like!

 

dissident teaser 2

 

buy the book

AmazonNookKoboiBooksSmashwords

 

author

 

Cecilia is my pen name. I may or may not live in San Antonio, Texas. I’ve been known to apply quotes from ‘The Simpsons’ to everyday life. I live for baseball season.

 

 

giveaway

 $10 iTunes Gift Card

Enter here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

 

Carol

7 Comments

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour, Book Reviews

7 responses to “Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: Dissident (The Bellator Saga #1) by Cecilia London

  1. Pingback: Tour: Dissident by Cecilia London ⋆ IndieSage PR

  2. Pingback: Release Day Blitz: Conscience (The Bellator Saga #2) by Cecilia London | Beauty and the Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: Conscience (The Bellator Saga #2) by Cecilia London | Beauty and the Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  5. Pingback: Character’s New Year Resolutions: Jack McIntyre from The Bellator Saga by Cecilia London | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  6. Pingback: Carols Favorite Books of 2015 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  7. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop (and Review): The Bellator Saga: The First Trilogy Box Set by Cecilia London | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

