Release Day Blitz and Book Review: The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S. Grey

HAPPY RELEASE DAY to R.S. Grey!!!

 

 

I absolutely LOVED The Allure of Julian Lefray. From 30% into it, I decided it was my favorite book of hers!! 🙂

 

 

sinopsis

 

 

 

From: JosephineKeller@LLDesigns.com

To: LilyNBlack@gmail.com

Subject: Justin Timberlake Nudes!Lily, you predictable perv. I knew you’d open this email faster if I tempted you with a glimpse of JT’s “PP”. Well, put your pants back on and grab some bubbly because I have much better news to share.

I GOT A JOB!

As of tomorrow, I’ll be the new executive assistant at Lorena Lefray Designs. I am SO excited, but there’s one itty bitty problem: I won’t be Lorena’s assistant. I’ll be working for her older brother, Julian.

I know what you’re thinking- “But Jo, what’s the problem?”

Google him. Now. He’s the man in the fitted navy suit whose face reminds you that there’s hope yet for this cruel, ugly world. Keep scrolling…Do you see those dimples? Yup. That’s the Julian Lefray I will be reporting to tomorrow morning.

Lord, help us all…

XO,

 

MY RATING: 5 Beastly stars

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

*****ARC received in exchange of an honest review*****

 

There is no doubt that by now R.S. Grey is one of my favorite New Adult/Romantic Comedy authors. She’s stablished herself as one of the best indie authors in this genre and I completely agree with that!

 

The Allure of Julian Lefray might be my favorite R.S. Grey book so far and I’ve read them all!!

 

I mean, what’s not to like in a funny, charming and approachable heroine and in a hot, yet sweet and charming hero?

 

Add to that the fact that  this book talks about the Fashion World and you get a more than satisfied reader here! Fashion is my other passion besides books, I used to have a Fashion Blog myself and here in Brazil Fashion Blogs are a HUGE success!! So yeah, I LOVED this theme and the whole stoey was done so well! It has a lightness that makes it so relatable. It’s about every small-town girl who loves fashion’s dream: making it in NYC in the fashion industry! And also getting the love of your life!

 

I love how R.S. Grey writes her heroines, they are so funny and witty! And Josephine isn’t different, I LOVED her. I also absolutely LOVE her supporting characters, a.k.a. the SIDECKICKS!!! Josephine’s sidekick is Lily and I have a feeling we might get her book, I’m not sure, though. This is just my speculation!!

 

I absolutely love that we don’t get an insta-love here. The characters, Josephine and Julian are instantly attracted, which is normal, but they do develope a friendship before anything remotely romantic happens between them. They really are great together. They make a great team. Julian is focused on helping his sisters who is away from her job due to reasons I won’t tell you, so you can get it from the book! LOL

 

Josephine is hired to help him and she does that. And much more. She helps him see the world in a different way. Their banter is hilarious and all their interactions with his friends are so good. All the characters were introduced into the story in a very good way, a way that is natural and not like they were thrown in the story just to fill it in. They are there, because they should be there!

 

There is even a HILARIOUS scene involving geriatric orgies. I KID YOU NOT!!!

 

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED how the book was introduced, the story of the trift shop and the vintage flats. I see a lot of myself in Josephine and I believe many of you will see it also. She is a relatable character!

 

And JULIAN!!!! Seriously, who in the Earth could resist the allure of that boy!!! Plus the book’s name reminds me of my favorite man’s fragrance, Allure by Chanel. It’s one I can imagine Julian wearing. It’s as sexy as him!

 

I really like the fact that they’ve been friends from the beginning. Although Julian has led a privileged life, he isn’t a snob and he might have been a player in the past, but from when he goes to NYC, he wasn’t one. He wasn’t a jerk and I loved how hardworking he was and how much he was helping his sister.  I also love his friend Dean!!! LOVED him. He was the perfect friend, the player, hot restauranteur. I have a feeling that if he has his own book he’d be so funny too! I see him as Chris Pratt (maybe because I watched Five Years of Engagement recently and Chris played a chef in that movie).

 

Anyways, girls, be ready to SWOON over Julian. Before I read the book I really thought he’d be a jerk hero ( I LOVE those too. The jerks and players who actually have great hearts), but from the start he’s been the perfect hero for this book! Rachel couldn’t have done better with him!!

 

Julian is the perfect hero for Josephine, but as much as they make a great team, they are also quite different from each other. Plus Josephine has her own goals and plans and also some new opportunies coming her way. Opportunites that may drift her and Julian apart…

 

I guess you’ll have to read it to know what I’m talking about. But trust me, it’ll be a reading you won’t regret!!

 

The kind of humor R.S. Grey write in her stories is so very real. It’s like we’re in a girl’s night out, or in a slumber party, or texting with our group of friends…The characters have the kind of conversations we can clearly have with our own friends and family and boyfriends and girlfriends. And for me that’s what makes her stories so real. They are natural.

 

I can easily see this book as a romantic comedy movie, one that I would watch over and over again!! It’s the PERFECT chick flick!! And therefore, the perfect chick lit as well!!!

 

It barely seemed like I was reading the story, it felt like I was living it with the characters or that I was watching them. I really LOVED it! The only flaw? It ended too soon for me, because I wanted it to go on forever (no, t’s not a short story, it’s just that I loved it so much)!!!

 

buy the book

Amazon

playlist

author

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way, I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors include Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

 

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under ARC, Book Blitz, Book Reviews, Release Day

2 responses to “Release Day Blitz and Book Review: The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S. Grey

  1. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Allure of Dean Harper by R.S. Grey | Beauty and the Book Blog

  2. Pingback: ARC Review: The Allure of Dean Haper (The Allure #2) by R.S. Grey | Beauty and the Book Blog

Leave a Reply

