Book Review: More Than Water by Renee Ericson

Hey again, Bookworms!!

 

Look at me, posting TWO book reviews in one day!! LOL

I literally just finished this book and I have so much to praise, I had to write my review, otherwise I’d forget my words! I hope you enjoy it!!

 

MORE THAN WATER

 

sinopsis

 

 

It doesn’t feel right. It doesn’t feel wrong. It just…feels.

EJ Cunning, an art history major, dates musicians. Foster Blake, a chemical engineering major, can’t sing a tune. They’re not each other’s type. They’re coworkers.

Then, one night leads to sex—sex between friends—which leads to an agreement. It all seems so simple—but nothing ever is.

Many layers build a person’s facade.

Look into the depths for what’s hidden within.

It’s more than water. It’s a story—a living and breathing substance beyond the reflective surface.

 

MY RATING: 5 Beautiful Stars

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

MY REVIEW:

 

As I said, I finished More Than Water a few minutes ago and I absolutely LOVED it!

When I was at 30% I pmed my friend MJ (who also read it)  that I was LOVING it! And I told her it was the kind of book I most liked.

But what makes it one of those books? As you know, I love my dark and twisted, taboo and mind-f** reads and More Than Water is nothing like those! It is a beautiful story, with a small dose of angst, but I wouldn’t say it is an angsty read. So how do I know it’s “my kind” of story?

I’ve come to realize that I have many of those and they are all from different types and genres, but they have one thing in common: I can’t describe why they are so amazing.  How they can pull you in from the start and just from the beginning you can see they’ll be those amazing reads!

I can’t really describe how amazing this book is, you feel immersed into the story and you can’t wait for the next page to see what else is coming. It was THAT addictive. When I can’t describe in one word how a book made me feel, it’s always a sign of a good story. But if I have to say one thing that bind all these greeat stories together, besides these amazing feelings (and the book hangover after I read them) they extract from me, it’ll have to be narrow down to the writing. YES, the writing make these books. No matter how great a story might be, how well the concept might fit, if the writing doesn’t compliment it, we’ll simply not feel as much as we do with a well-written book.

It’s a beautiful story about a girl who loves art and is an artist but who is conflicted because her parents want her to have an MBA in Yale after she graduates and get right into the family business. I feel like I could realy relate to AJ. How not everyone understood her. She is a crazy, charming and witty female character. I want to be best friends with her. And Foster? God, I LOVE a hot nerd. So yeah, of course I would love him!

Foster is the guy who has been hurt in the past and doesn’t want relationships. He and EJ seem opposites like fire and water, but just as he shows her in one of his experiments, fire and water together can be more beautiful than anyone could imagine. As long as both elements admit they can coexist together like that. It’s hard for him, because he doesn’t want to date and he tells her from the start, but their chemistry is off the charts. It’s bigger than the periodic table, Foster is so fond of!

I LOVE how Renee’s writing put, not only these characters, but the whole story together. There’s no traumatic past, or history of abuse here. These are two normal people that need to learn their own lessons in life. It was refreshing to see characters struggling with real problems like theirs. NOt that I don’t love those other kinds of stories, you know I do. But in this case, the story was just PERFECT.

It’s completely relatable, and you can feel EJ’s struggle with her family and her professional life, as well as her conflicts. We can see how she and Foster grow closer and closer and how it’s inevitable they’ll fall for each other. The only problem is if those two will let water and fire mix, after all no matter how much water or fire or any element or anything defines us, we are indeed more than them!

And just like photography or painting, writing is a form of art. My favorite kind of art. Not only as someone who appreciates it, as a reader, but also to create it. Nothing is like written words. Few things can elict feelings from us like a good book. And Renee Ericson manages it! She is for sure an artist.

 

buy the book

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Books

3 responses to “Book Review: More Than Water by Renee Ericson

  1. Pingback: Christmas Letter to Santa: EJ and Foster from More Than Water by Renee Ericson | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  2. Pingback: Carols Favorite Books of 2015 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  3. Pingback: Valentine’s Daily Special: Steps on How to Land a Book Boyfriend by EJ from More Than Water by Renee Ericson | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

