Blog Tour and Review: The Traveling Woman (The Traveling Duet #2) by Jane Harvey-Berrick

TRAVELING WOMAN BANNER

Hello book world!!

I’m super excited for this tour today!!! As you know The Traveling Man is my top read of 2015 and I can’t wait for you to read The Traveling Woman too! It comes out tomorrow!!!

traveling woman

Title: The Traveling Woman (The Traveling Duet, #2)

Author: Jane Harvey – Berrick

Release Date: April 7, 2015

Genre: Contemporary Romance

goodreads

 

sinopsis

 

 

THE CONCLUDING STORY of Aimee and Kestrel, begun in THE TRAVELING MAN ……

How many times do you gamble on love? When love has knocked you down, should you give it another chance? When does optimism become stupidity?

And what happens when the man you’re in love with is never still, always moving, always traveling? Do you say goodbye, or do you leave behind everything that you’ve worked for, everything that you’ve ever known? Can a traveling carnival be my home

Oh. You thought I had the answers. No, sorry. No answers, just a lot of questions—and a heart that wants to rule my head.

Can one person be my home?

 

MY RATING: 5 MAGICAL stars

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

***ARC received in exchange of an honest review***

In my review of The Traveling Man I mentioned that Jane raises the ordinary to extraordinary. And Jane continues doing so in The Traveling Woman. Living for a few hours inside her books, certainly makes us think that life is indeed the most extraordinary thing, exactly for the fact that even in the most ordinary situations we can find magic in them!

This book was different than The Traveling Man, I could feel the difference, but not in a bad way. The way the story unfolded and the characters went on,  were different than in The Traveling Man. Also the feelings it evoked from me. Yes, I could feel the love between Kes and Aimee, I could feel the magic, but I also could feel, much more than ever, how real Kes and Aimee’s love is.

” I call it a carnival, and the people you meet are one of the best things about it. The people you travel with become your family.”


At the same time, The Traveling Man was pure magic, it was like The Traveling Woman is pure reality. It has the magic, because once the Carnival is in your heart the magic will never leave you (and that serves for us readers too, I’m not sure this magical story will ever leave my heart). But it’s like Kes and Aimee now have to deal with “real life”. Their lifes were real before, but now, I felt that things got much more real for them.

ttw


Falling in love isn’t enough, they now have to live in love!!!


This book was powerful in a whole different level, it broke my heart and mended every little piece of it. Oh my God, no one knows how to make a story flow like Jane does!! The way she combines words and make this beautiful sentences and quotes? That’s true magic, folks!!! She combines words in an unparallel way, it’s like she weaves this words and with them she glued every piece of my heart that was broken. Her flow seems so effortless and the result are flawless and beautiful sentences that warms ourselves from the heart out!

The Traveling Woman hit real close to home so to me, it felt extremely real, because I knew all that happened there could actually happen in real life and taking a real life experience and turning it into magic…that my friends, it’s only for real talented authors!

TTW-teaser-3

By now I must sound like a broken record when it comes to Jane’s abilities to write this real and raw stories, but some of them just really, truly find themselves glued to a little special place in my heart. And The Traveling Duet is for sure one of those! Speaking of those stories, I LOVED seeing my boy (one of my favorite characters of Jane’s , of a story that is stuck on my special place) appearing in this book and interacting there! I loved the glimpse to his (and his girl) future, they seem more mature, specially her. LOVED that, Jane!!

Remember I said in my review of The Traveling Man that I started crying because I was so overwelmed by the sheer beauty in it? Well, I messaged Jane again (I feel like I’m so annoying) to say I was crying. I was crying the kind of tears only her can get out of me. The Traveling Woman is the perfect conclusion to Kes and Aimee’s story.

The Traveling Woman is all about the magic, but not the circus magic, but the real life magic.It’s like we get to see their real lives after the magic, but they haven’t lost the magic.

They just faced reality. And the way they faced it? With brutal honesty and without fears, it was all because they got the magic in them!

“But the best part is waking up every morning and seeing the Ferris wheel reaching up to the sky. I see that and I know that I’ve come home.”

Kes is a difficult  man, but it was amazing to see how he realised that himself and he changed the way he approached things, all for Aimee. And Aimee changed too, I loved seeing how she could face she didn’t need to change her life for Kes, but if she did change it, it was her choice. She was a bit more mature in this book, in the sense that she finally understood that Kes wasn’t going to change because she wanted, he had to want it too! It was beautiful seeing them growing up from the kids to teens and to young adults in The Traveling Man. But to me it was even more beautiful to see them growing up as individuals and as partners. It was an inner growth that we could see glowed from their outsides.

I feel like I understand Kes and his struggles so much more now! And I feel like Aimee too understand them better now. She knew them, but I get the feeling she finally really “got”them!

I felt very happy after finishing this book. I hate seeing books ending, but in the end of The Traveling Woman I felt this feeling of contentment I so rarely do! I mean, of course I’d love more Aimee and Kes, but I loved how their story ended. I love how they didn’t jump on a white horse and rode to the rainbow or something…I loved that this ended in such a real way, that felt just so right!!

” ‘It’s true,’ I said quietly. ‘ You drive me crazy, and not always in a good way, but no one has ever loved me the way you do.’

[…] Kes love was hard and uncompromising. Love to him was fierce, not soft and yielding. But for me, he was willing to compromise. For me, he was willing to bend. And I loved him all the more for that.”

TTW 4

Jane’s stories make you change your perspective on life and how to live. They are not meant to be fables and give you any moral lessons in the end, but they do. And they do it in a subtle way that makes you want to aim for the ordinary, because it is it that is extraordinary. Everything truly is extraordinary in real life if you have a Jane Harvey-Berrick book in your hands!!!

Thank you once again, Jane for making me happy I read your books! This contentment I feel after this story is such a warm and pure feeling and so fresh, I wish I found it in every book I read in my life. My heart is all warm and fuzzy from reading this story (in both books). So I toast you and your stories Jane! Thank you for being different among the sea of the same things we see lately. And the coolest part? You’re different not from writing anything different, but exactly for the fact that you write what we experience in real life, we can see you write from the heart and so this heart of mine thanks you for opening up a new special place for Kes and Aimee and always the ferris wheel!!

TTW-teaser-2

 

buy the book

TTW TEASER

Amazon US | Amazon UK

 

EXCERPT

I saw the Ferris wheel first, lit up in the twilight, the simple white lights making the huge steel structure seem almost ethereal. Without conscious thought, I touched the necklace that I never took off, my fingers stroking the tiny Ferris wheel set with a diamond at the center.

As I sat up straighter in my seat, I saw Kes’s lips curve upwards, although whether that was because he could sense my excitement, or because he was in a place that felt like home, I couldn’t say.

The fair wasn’t open yet; instead it lay dormant, the wide avenue of the midway with its silent stalls and unplayed games, its tricks and delights, waiting to unleash its pleasure on the paying public. It was a world within a world, a community of others, where being different was celebrated, expected, valued. It was also painted with a new face, hiding a darker history behind arcade games, glitz and glamor.

I rolled down the window and imagined that I could smell the faint scent of the fair: hotdogs, onions, cotton candy. I was transported back over a decade, to the first time I’d visited the carnival, the first year I’d met Kes. It was magical to me then, and even though Kes had been the one to show me the puppet’s strings behind the illusion, the magic had not lost its power. I was home.

Kes steered the car around to the staff area, and I realized for the first time how vast this fairground was.

“Kes,” I breathed. “This place is huge!”

“Yeah, one of the bigger ones,” he said nonchalantly.

We were still driving around the perimeter.

“How big are we talking?”

He shrugged. “Uh, 550 acres, give or take. Almost a square mile.”

“Wow! And the arena where you’re performing?”

He looked at me sideways. “Ten thousand people.”

My jaw dropped open, and it took me several tries before I could get the words out.

“Ten thousand?

He scratched his thumb over his eyebrow. “It’s not sold out. So, maybe eight or nine thousand.”

“Oh my God! Ten thousand people are coming to see you? That’s crazy!”

He gave me a wry smile as I babbled.

“I mean, not crazy! Of course not! That’s great! In fact, it’s freakin’ awesome. Ten thousand people.” I couldn’t get my head around it.

“Yeah, it usually gets sold out on the last day.”

I gulped. “How … how many days are you doing the show?”

Kes grinned at me. “Three days.”

I stopped speaking. I literally stopped speaking.

“I never thought I’d live to see this day,” he laughed. “Aimee Andersen is speechless.”

 

The Traveling Man (The Traveling Duet, #1)

Now Available – Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N

traveling manI was ordinary. Nice. He was extraordinary. And he wasn’t always nice.

Moody and difficult, brilliant and beautiful, Kes scared me and he protected me. He could be incredibly hurtful and incredibly thoughtful. He wasn’t perfect, but he was perfect for me. He challenged me, he took me out of my safe little box and showed me the world could be magnificent. He was everything I wasn’t.

Aimee Anderson is ten when the traveling carnival first comes to her nice little town. She doesn’t expect her world to change so completely. But meeting Kestrel Donohue puts her life on a different path.

Even though she only sees him for the two weeks of the year when he passes through her home town, his friendship is the most important of her life. As a child’s friendship grows to adult love, the choices become harder, and both Kes and Aimee realize that two weeks a year will never be enough.

 

author

Jane

I lived in London for over 10 years and have a love affair with New York. It’s only since I have moved to the countryside, that the words have really begun to flow.

I live in a small village by the ocean and walk my little dog, Pip, every day. It’s on those beachside walks that I have all my best ideas.

Writing has become a way of life – and one that I love to share.

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon Author Page | Twitter

 

 

giveaway

Enter here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

love p

 

XOXO

 

Carol

7 Comments

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour, Book Reviews

7 responses to “Blog Tour and Review: The Traveling Woman (The Traveling Duet #2) by Jane Harvey-Berrick

  1. Lovely review, Carol! I totally agree with this–> “Jane’s stories make you change your perspective on life and how to live.”

  2. Thank you sooo much! I love what you wrote: “Falling in love isn’t enough, they now have to live in love” Yes! That’s it!! ❤ jx

  3. Pingback: Character Interview: Kes Donohue from The Traveling Durt by Jane Harvey-Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: Roustabout by Jane Harvey-Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Carols Favorite Books of 2015 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

