Blog Tour Stop and Review: #Player (The Hashtag Series #3) by Cambria Hebert

 

Helloo everyone!!

I hope everyone’s week has been good and that you have an AWESOME weekend ahead!!

Today I’m a stop for the blog tour of #Player. This is the conclusion of Rimmel and Romeo’s story that started with #Nerd and #Hater. There is another book coming, but about a different character (and I can’t freaking wait because he is one of my favorites!!!).

 

sinopsis

 

Players gotta play.
Hate is like a poison. It contaminates everything.

 

So does doubt.

 

Even though I deny what I overheard, even though I insist it isn’t true, the seed of doubt has been planted. I can’t help but be tormented with the endless what-if’s that have taken over our lives.

 

Romeo and I were happy in love. The future stretched before us brighter than any star in the darkest sky. Now everything is broken. Literally broken. Romeo’s entire career is at stake, my entire future is threatened… and my past?

 

It’s coming back to haunt me.

 

To haunt us.

 

Romeo says we’re in this together and right now the only sure thing is us. But how far can a love so new be pushed? The lengths we will have to go to save each other puts everything at risk.

 

Romeo is a #player but how much of the game can one person play?

 

 

RATING: 5 #Ilovethisseries stars

 

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

 

*****  ARC received in exchange of an honest review *****

 

 

   I read #Nerd and #Hater this year and I just about fell in love with the story and its characters. Rimmel and Romeo are so great together! But I also loved them both individually! I could see myself on Rimmel through most of the book and Romeo is just the kind of guy I’d like to meet in real life!

 

    When the opportunity to be a stop in the blog tour of #Player and read an ARC of it arose, I just couldn’t pass it!

 

     Also, I can’t be the only one that sings “Shake it off” by Taylor Swift everytime I read about this series, can I? But then this is something I like, because I love that song and I’ll always associate it with these books that I also love!!

 

    #Player starts right where #Hater finished. There is a cliffhanger in #Hater and the third book didn’t disappoint! Not a little bit! The conflict we had in both books 1 and 2 is resolved quite in the beginning of #Player but then a new conflict appears and I liked how the story never went flat. It was very dinamic and consistent.

 

    #Nerd and #Hater focus a lot on Rimmel and Romeo’s love story (not that #Player doesn’t, because it does), but #Player brings us more about Rimmel’s past and what is going around with her father and family. We also see Romeo’s mother making amends for her behavior towards Rimmel and their relationship.

 

    Rimmel is a very straightforward girl and Romeo is a very honest hero, so they work very well together. Even though Rimmel is a self-proclaimed #nerd, she isn’t an innocent girl, she is not only smart and funny but also so not naive!! I really liked that aspect of her personality, because she is a sweet girl, but not clueless. It’s different from a lot of nerdy heroines we see out there. So is Romeo. Yes, he is a jock. Yes, he started needing Rimmel’s help, but he is pretty smart himself. He’s not only a #player, he not only has a good heart (and the GOOD looks), but he is also all male with a good head on his shoulders. He doens’t hang out with the wrong crowd, his friends are great, he has a good support system. It was very refreshing to have characters that seem quite ordinary compared to the myriad of broken heroes and heroines we get. I’m not complaining or judging, I’m the first in line for a good book with a broken heroine or hero…But not following the new “norm” and making it so brilliant earned Cambria a spot in my intereting authors!!! A lot people think writing a NA novel must be easy, specially one that isn’t angsty or dark. Well, as a compulsive reader and a reader of many NA books, I gotta say…it’s NOT easy to write good NA! Specially ones that aren’t mainstream! 🙂

 

 

    Another big conflict is the fact that Romeo got hurt helping Rimmel in the end of book 2, so his fate in Football is pretty much uncertain. And in addition to that both of them have their lives to go on with. Finishing school, battling our most hated #hater, uncovering past secrets…but I love how everything is done in such a natural way. Cambria Hebert didn’t make it sound unrealistic and I loved that aspect of her writing. These books are the first books of hers I’ve read and I’m very impressed with them.

 

     These are college/NA romances and I have a weakness for those (along with CEO books). But not every NA book is for me, some have these obnoxious heroes and even though I love a good jerk hero, some are just not my type. Not that Romeo is one of those. He is far away from being a jerk, but he isn’t a p***ssy either! He is all alpha male and HAWT, but he also has a golden heart and treats his girl in the most loving way without losing his man card!!!  Kudos for making it happen that way, Cambria!!

 

   Another thing I really liked about this series is that it shows the college aspect of the characters lives, but in a fun way. It’s not all about studying, but it isn’t all about partying either. We get to see the daily lives of our characters and I always love that in any book.

 

     Adding the #BuzzBoss notifications and you have a fun reading all along! The #BuzzBoss reminded me of Gossip Girl, and its notifications cracked me up! There ins’t a way of not smiling at least a thousand times reading these books. Even though they are not funny ha ha all the time, they were the kind of funny I enjoy, because the funny aspect just adds to the story instead of eclipsing it. And the fact that it’s so natural and in no way forced addes even more to the story!

 

    What I do know after reading #Player: I love Romeo even more and I want a real-life version of him more than ever; I want to be Rimmel’s best friend FOREVAH;  I need to go to college in the US, because that sounds just so much fun (and I mean the studying, the parties are just a bonus)!! Oh and of course, I NEED A BBFL like RIGHT NOW!!! FYI BBFL stands for “Big Brother For Life”, and NO ONE plays the part better than Braeden! He is definitely my favorite character after Rimmel and Romeo.

 

     Oh…did I mention I LOVE, LOVE, LOOOOVE, Romeo’s dirty talking? I think that’s so hot, specially because Rimmel is so shy with others.

 

    Another thing I discovered, one way to this NA lover’s heart is to write as good as Cambria does. I love angst in books, mostly in NA books, but, as I already mentioned here before,  I also LOVE to find books that withouth a hint of angst or darkness just make my whole day! I don’t like overly sweet books or books with stories that seem forced. My NA books gotta be realistic, well written and with a good story that stays consistent to the characters and to how it began. And #Player (and the whole series) has all that!! I LOVE finding books that are “vanilla” (“vanilla” to me isn’t lack of HOTNESS, is just a non-dark book) at heart, but so so so freaking good they make me forget all about dark books!

 

   #Player is a story that grabs you from the start to the very end and when it ends you want to know more about the characters, because you’re just not ready to let them go, even though they do it making you smile! It’s been kinda hard for a book, or worse, a series, to leave me completely satisfied after I finish it and #Player did that! It’s the perfect conclusion to Rimmel and Romeo’s story and I couldn’t be happier about having known this great characters and this great story!

 

    All I have to say now is #Ilovethisseries and #Number24IsTheBomb…Oh and…#RimmelandRomeoForever !!!

 

    I truly enjoyed this series. I recommend it to anyone that likes romance and a good laugh!!!

 

teasers

 

 

author
Cambria Hebert is a bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.
Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).
Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: Text, Torch, Tryst, Masquerade, and Recalled.
Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC. Email: cambriahebert@rocketmail.com


IN THE SERIES:
Add to Goodreads

Amazon

Amazon CA

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

B&N

Kobo

Add to Goodreads

Amazon

Amazon CA

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

B&N

Kobo

 

giveaway

 

Enter here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

HOSTED BY:

 

XOXO

 

Carol
Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

