Book Review: The Duet by R.S. Grey

Hey everyone!!

How is everything? I’m finally back to college, so my schedule was a bit behind this last few weeks, with classes, working 3 jobs and all that…But as usual, I’m back!

Today I’m reviewing a book by one of my auto-clicks authors: R.S. Grey!!! I just LOVE the way Rachel writes!!!

 

THE DESIGN

sinopsis

 

 

This book is a STANDALONE. It follows two side characters from The Duet, but every detail you need to know will be included.

Five minutes until the interview begins.

Fresh on the heels of her college graduation, Cameron Heart has landed an interview at a prestigious architecture firm.

Four minutes until the interview.

She knows she’s only there because the owner, Grayson Cole, is her older sister’s friend.

Three minutes.

For the last seven years, Grayson has been the most intimidating man Cammie has ever had the pleasure, or displeasure, of being around.

Two Minutes.

But the job opportunity is too good to pass up. So, Cammie will have to ignore the fact that Grayson is handsome enough to have his own national holiday.

One.

After all, she shouldn’t feel that way about her new boss. And, he will be her new boss.

“I’m not intimidated by you,” I said with a confident smile.
“Perhaps we should fix that, Ms. Heart. Close the door.”

 

RATING: 3.5 stars

 

3 stars3 stars3 stars4 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

*****ARC received in exchange of an honest review *****

Well, first of all let me say I love R.S. Grey’s writing and I don’t think anything can change that!

Her stories are always so filled with humor and are so fun! The Duet definitely brought the fun and sense of humor, but I have to say I missed the love connection between Cammie and Grayson for the most part of the book.

I usually don’t like male POVs, but in this case I believe Grayson’s POV could have been very welcome, because during some parts of the book I felt like the love and connection were one-sided even though he pretty much admited from the beginning that he was attraced to her.

I started laughing from the beginning, I loved how Cammie handled her interview, but I have to admit I didn’t like how she handled her job. She wasn’t being professional at all, the things she did to get Grayson’s attention were almost childish. I loved how Cammie was so strong in her interview and I missed that girl, the confident girl. Not that she wasn’t confident, she was, but then she was coming on too strong on Grayson. I agree, he could have showed more interest instead of having lunches with his floozies, but I don’t agree with Cammie’s methods, mostly because it seemed she didn’t take her job seriously and was there just to seduce Grayson.

For wanting to be taken seriously in the company, she wasn’t doing her part. Yes, most of it was funny, but I couldn’t enjoy that part of the story, mostly because it made her look like she was going after him against his will, which was not the case…

But then it must be difficult to work under your friend’s best friend (no pun intended LOL). I probably wouldn’t feel very professional either, specially if when he looks as good as Grayson!

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Cammie’s banter with Jason (from The Duet) and with her sister Brook! Brook is the best sister ever! And Cammie’s moments with Grayson outside of the office were also great, actually when she wasn’t acting so child-like in there I liked them too!

But then, Cammie is a young heroine, just out of college. People may argue that when we leave college we’re supposed to be mature, but is it really true? So I give Cammie an almost free pass for the way she acted, because she was actually acting her age. Brook was young too, but when their parents died she had to take so many responsibilities, Cammie included, that she had to mature fast. That don’t excuse the way Cammie acted, but it can explain it and I see why she was portraited that way.

Her roommate though…she was a B***, yes with a capital B!!! Also her manager, what a D-bag!!!! Hated those two, but I liked most of the supporting characters.

I also wanted more about Grayson’s mom and Cammie, his mom is so funny!! I really liked her.

I was really looking forward to The Design because I loved Grayson and Cammie’s banter in The Duet. In their own book, they weren’t as I expected them to be. Actually they were, but in a smaller dosage, if you can understand me. I wanted more of Grayson and Cammie, mostly because I wanted to see Grayson interacting more with her.

Does it mean I didn’t enjoy The Design? Hell no! I actually enjoyed it a lot, I wanted to shake Cammie through some parts, but the story and the writing are good! I took 1.5 stars because I wished there was more about their story and more about Grayson’s connection to Cammie.

We could see from the past that Grayson really wanted to help Brook with Cammie and that he cared for her, but in the present, even though he made it clear about his attraction, I couldn’t see their connection as much as I wanted. So yeah, I would love to see what’s inside his head. This is one of those books that I think I’d really enjoy the story in the male POV.

I love office romances, the tension and the banter, but in this case I liked their romance off the office better. I loved the dinners, the clubbing and their banter outside of the office. Because there Grayson was the CEO in command and a professional. I loved when he let loose and was so carefree with Cammie!!!

 

It may seem like I’m hard on Cammie, but I actually liked her, she was super fun and the kind of heroine I would like to have as my work collegue (but only if I could work in a place I could ogle man candy like Grayson). I absolutely love her relationship with Brooke and I love how she and Jason became friends and gave each other funny nicknames (LOVE that speech).
I actually LOVED the life lesson Cammie finally learned in the second half of the book. She figured out for herself what was wrong and we, the readers, could see since the beginning. As I said, Cammie was young and she needed that lesson, so no harm in her behaviour, because she actually learn from her mistakes!!

Cammie learned what she needed, but so did Grayson. He has his own flaws, although I gave him reason in some parts, he wasn’t so innocent after all. But after Cammie experiences all she wanted (and needed) to, I could actually see their connection. After Cammie wasn’t acting like a child anymore we can see more of Grayson’s side too (I still want his POV though).

R.S. Grey is one of the masters of the NA genre for me. She writes with a lightness that doesn’t take away her talent for writing! I love how fun and light reads all her books are. Whenever I want to smile reading a book, hers are great options.

When I say a book is light, it doesn’t mean it isn’t well written or good, it usually means it isn’t dark or angsty, both characteristics I love in books, but most of the times lately I’ve been looking for good light ones! And it isn’t as easy to find good light or good NA books as you would think. So if you want one, R.S. Grey’s books are sure a great option, and The Duet is included here!

A 3.5 rating for a R.S. Grey book, in my opinion, is better than most 4 or 5 stars I see out there. No judging, but if you haven’t read her books you need to ASAP to get what I’m saying.

When I was younger and ebooks and indie didn’t exist yet (I’ve been a hardcore reader for 16 years or so)I used to LOVE reading Sophie Kinsella’s books or Marian Keynes and Meg Cabot’s (YA and NA ones). Back then I probably had read all NA and YA books released here in Brazil and I gotta say I miss finding books like those and when I find authors as good as R.S. Grey that have the quality to write a good “light” and fun book I get pretty attached to them, because suffering with angsty or dark in a story is, at least to me, a great feeling, but smiling through one is just AMAZING, because who doesn’t need a good laugh?

So if you ask me if you should read The Duet, I ask you back, do you like to have fun? Because not having fun while reading it is almost impossible!!

 

buy the book

 

THE DESIGN

 

XOXO

 

 

Carol

1 Comment

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

One response to “Book Review: The Duet by R.S. Grey

  1. Pingback: ARC Review: The Allure of Dean Haper (The Allure #2) by R.S. Grey | Beauty and the Book Blog

Leave a Reply

