My Signed Books Collection

What’s up, Bookworms?!!?

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while…As you know I am Brazilian and I live in Brazil.

So my chances to go to Book Events and Signings are very little and so are my chances of having signed books. But even so, I’ve got some!

Some I bought from the author, but I only do that when I really, really, REALLY love a book and/or author, because it gets super EXPENSIVE for me…I have to convert the dollar to my own money – real- and add a brazilian tax we have for buying things in differnt currencies from credit cards. So a U$15 book would cost almost R$50.00 (reais – my money) without the shipping fees…

I do plan on saving this year to go to a signing event and also to buy at least one signed book from a favorite author per month…Hopefully I’ll get to do both!!

But enough of that! Here are my signed books…3 are in Portuguese and who knows me, knows I don’t particularly like reading in Portuguese, since I am fluent in English, I prefer reading in the original language of my books, because a lot is lost in translation…and some type of scenes sound way less vulgar in English than in Portuguese LOL

But last year I went to TWO very special signings. I met Sylvia Day and Tammar Webber and since both events were promoted by their Brazilian publishing houses/editors, I had to buy at least one book in Portuguese.

I ended up buying Easy and Breakable by Tammar Webber in Portuguese, but I wish my original paperback had arrived in time so I could take it too… 😦

I currently have 19 signed books, but since one (a book in Portuguese by Sylvia Day) is currently with my friend on loan, only 18 will be featured here.

 

Unspoken Memories by Gabbie S. Duran: This is my first EVER signed book and Gabbie was kind enough to send it to me as a gift.

IMG_2043 IMG_2044

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Education of Sebastian and  The Education of Caroline by Jane Harvey-Berrick: Jane also gifted me both books. I was floored with such generosity when I came home and there was this huge box waiting for me!!!

 

IMG_2051   IMG_2052

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2053 IMG_2054

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reflected In You by Sylvia Day: I managed to find this one in the original paperback (Brazilian paperbacks are a bit different, the paper they use is thicker and the covers too…it’s one of the reasons they are so expensive here – it’s still cheaper to buy imported books in bookstores than books in Portuguese).

Sylvia is the first author I got to know personally and it’ll always be a special memory to me! She was so sweet and gentle and talked quite a lot with me! 🙂

 

IMG_2049 IMG_2050

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easy and Breakable by Tammara Webber: I loved how her Brazilian publisher decided to maintain the original title instead of translating it (the title translations mostly never work – don’t start me on FSOG!)!! Tammara is such a pretty lady and so sweet to all her readers. They even brought a translation to help the readers who didn’t speak English!!

Easy was also one of my first ever indie books and I read it so long ago that when I saw it on Brazilian bookstores I got SO excited!!! LOVE Lucas and Breakable IMO is even better!!

IMG_2045 IMG_2046

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2047 IMG_2048

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With the Father and Remembering Joy by Jenni Moen: Jenni is another great find and an author I consider a friend of mine! She is also super sweet and gifted me these two books! I LOVE With the Father and how unexpected the story is! I also LOVE the Joy series and I’m going to order the two books soon, because they have BEAUTIFUL new covers!!

IMG_2039 IMG_2040

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2041 IMG_2042

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contessa, Olivia, Dear Jon and Livvy by Lori L. Otto: Lori is another generous author, who I helped with some Portuguese translations and she sent me the Choise series as a gift. Their covers are SO, SO PRETTY!! I love the watercolors!!! And Lori is such an incredible author!!!!

IMG_2037 IMG_2038

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2035 IMG_2036

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2033-0 IMG_2034

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2031-0 IMG_2032-0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Original Sinners (Red Years: The Siren, The Angel, The Prince, The Angel and The Mistress – and White Years: The Saint and The King) by Tiffany Reisz: Well, Tiffany IS the author of my favorite series, after all. So I splurged and bought all the Original Sinners books published in December as a Christmas Gift for myself. What a surprise it was when I opened the big box and saw how Tiffany signed the books! It was so funny and sweet! LOVED it BIG TIME!!

 

 

IMG_2055

 

IMG_2056 IMG_2057

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2058 IMG_2059

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2061 IMG_2060

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2063 IMG_2062

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2065 IMG_2064

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2067 IMG_2066-0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can definitely sign my own #NERD card, because to me, there’s nothing cooler or more special than interacting and being friends with authors. I wish I lived in the US so I could go to many signings and buy books all the time, but even being so far away, I still feel pretty great about knowing writers and having contact with them! So whenever I get one of these packages at home, I have this indescribable feeling! It’s the feeling of having your dreams coming true!!!

 

What about you, do you have many signed books? Tell me in the comments!

 

XOXO

 

Carol

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles, Book Spotlight, Random, Spotlights

Leave a Reply

