Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: The Traveling Man (The Traveling Duet #1) by Jane Harvey-Berrick

THE TRAVELING MAN - BANNER

Title: The Traveling Man (Traveling, #1)

Author: Jane Harvey – Berrick

Release Date: January 27, 2015

Genre: Contemporary Romance

goodreads

It’s here, it’s finally here, the day of the blog tour!!!

I’ve been wanting to scream to the rooftops for two weeks since I read The Traveling Man and now you all will understand why! The book releases tomorrow, but you can already check some cool stuff here, like (ahem) my review, some graphic teasers and a book trailer my BFF made!

 

81qgUqK9ilL._SL1260_

 

BOOK SYNOPSIS:

 

I was ordinary. Nice. He was extraordinary. And he wasn’t always nice.

Moody and difficult, brilliant and beautiful, Kes scared me and he protected me. He could be incredibly hurtful and incredibly thoughtful. He wasn’t perfect, but he was perfect for me. He challenged me, he took me out of my safe little box and showed me the world could be magnificent. He was everything I wasn’t.

Aimee Anderson is ten when the traveling carnival first comes to her nice little town. She doesn’t expect her world to change so completely. But meeting Kestrel Donohue puts her life on a different path.

Even though she only sees him for the two weeks of the year when he passes through her home town, his friendship is the most important of her life. As a child’s friendship grows to adult love, the choices become harder, and both Kes and Aimee realize that two weeks a year will never be enough.

 

MY RATING: 5 MAGICAL stars

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

 

image

How can you start reviewing a book that touched you as deeply as The Traveling Man touched me?

I knew from the blurb alone this would be a show stopper, one of Jane’s epic books, but I wasn’t expecting it to hit me this hard. This might be my favorite Jane Harvey-Berrick book! The Traveling Man is quintessentially a JHB book, but also so much more!! It’s more in every sense, it’s BRILLIANT!

At 32% I couldn’t stop myself and I PMed Jane to tell her how mcuch the book was affecting me. It was like the book was alive, it’s pure, pure magic! I wanted to cry, not because the story was sad, but because I was loving it so much. That never happened to me before. I read a lot of books, but wanting to cry because the story was so good it felt it was bursting into life,  was a first to me.

We first meet Kes and Aimee as they’re little kids. They are so different, Kes being uneducated and wild and Aimee being a bookworm since ever (I related so much to that part of her personality!!) and having to act all prim and proper since she was a little kid because of her father.  But she wasn’t born to be contained, she has a free spirit and Kes recognizes that!

Kes was something so new to Aimee. He is different from everyone and everything she has ever seen and Aimee is the stability Kes craved in his life! They teach each other so many things and it’s beautiful to see their friendship happening and then blossoming!

image

Her one wish for ther birthday was to go to the carnival that just arrived at her town, and although her father and sister didn’t want to go, her mother helped her. There, she found a world of wonders, she was desperate to escape her house…

“To me the carnival promised a world of magic.”

She was looking for magic and with Kes…she found it.

“It ocurred to me that I had found magic at the carnival after all, just not in the places that I’d been looking.”

The only problem is that she found a friend, but he would be gone too soon. And that is how it worked, she would wait for the carnival to arrive and stay for a few weeks every year. It was great to see their personalities and lives blossom every year the carnival arrived! Kes and Aimee as kids were AWESOME!

image

And by the age of 16 she had found true love. But who said love is easy? Love is supposed to be messy, to keep us on our toes, to deconstruct the neat little boxes we build around us in our lives…And Jane is a master of reminding us of all that.

“I felt as if I’d met my soulmate, but he was always being taken away from me. Life was so unfair.”

I loved, loved, loved the early carnival days, how Jane shows us their day-to-day life, how they create magic. And her writing this story? She is the real magic creator!!

 

image

The Traveling Man is all about the power of the story. The power of Kes and Aimee’s story is amazing as well, but we can just feel the story as a whole, the words work as fairy dust and transport us to a place  so full of feelings that you’ll wish you lived there!

I’m not going to spoil the story for you, but this book is divided in two parts, the early days and 8 years after and I also LOVED that! I love the fact that Jane can do that and maintain the characters and story’s consistency. We don’t get lost in it. Well, we might do, we might get lost in Kes and his swoon worthiness, in their love story, in the carnival…

I could see the circus and the carnival, they became life when I was reading, the story really made me feel like I was part of it.

When we see the characters again 8 years later we can see the changes in them, how Kes only escalated in his risk-taking, from fire breather and knife thrower into a show of his own. And also Aimee. She chooses a profession that is so deeply rooted in her love for Kes that it made me smile so big!!

 

image

It is part of a duet though, so you might be wondering if there is a cliffy involved…I felt like the ending of The Traveling Man was an intermission, not really a cliffy. You know how in old movies like Gone With the Wind, they had an intermission and than some minutes later they’d play the second half? I felt like that!

A friend asked me what I most loved about The Traveling Man. My answer was the story. Not specifically Kes and Aimee’s story (although it was POWERFUL and I truly  loved it), but the story as a whole.  The whole carnival thing and the real life in it. Aimee looked for magic in the circus and I definitely felt it reading about it.

I love how Jane’s words just play out so right, how she connects words and forms this magical phrases and build a story like this! From the technical point of writing (yes, I’m a nerd like this), that is so exciting to see happening!!!

Some may say it has a The Education of Sebastian (TEOS) and The Education of Caroline (TEOC) vibe to it. I agree. It isn’t the same story, or even that much comparable, but it has that power of their story vibe and the past and present vibe TEOS and TEOC have. Like Sebastian and Caroline, Kes and Aimee, it’s all about their story.

Also, this book was hot in a way we don’t see very often lately. It isn’t overly smutty, although it does have some HAWT scenes in it. Kes is AMAZING. He isn’t a good person, per se. Well, he is, but he doesn’t act it, unless you’re Aimee (which I totally think I am, so Kes come pick me up in your bike!!). And I loved how Jane didn’t sugarcoat him. He doesn’t mask the fact he doesn’t act good, he is mean, he is vindictive and he has a temper. And Aimee? She is spot on the type of heroine I like. She gives as much as she gets, either it’s love or it’s temper. She doesn’t let his temper get to her, she is her own person and despite having suffered so much from life despite her young age, she is mature and loving, but she is not his stepping stone. They are truly partners.

image

Oh by the way…if you read Dangerous to Know and Love (I did six times LOL) you might want to pay close attention to the story…Not saying more!! #teaseforlife

This book carved its way into my heart and truly stole it from all the other books I’ve read this year and probably from the ones I will read. And I have a feeling The Traveling Woman will bring even more power! There are a few mysteries that I’m dying to see playing out in te second book!!

It’s really hard to describe and put into words how a book you love that much feels to you. I hope you all want to experience something like I did and read The Traveling Man, because this book is a true experience. It’s one of those books that will make you smile and just want to be a person deserving of reading it!!

I’ve said it before and I’ll repeat, no one does real life like Jane! She writes about real people, people we might find on the street, on the supermarket, on the circus. And she has a way of showing that the ordinary isn’t ordinary at all. She shows us that life, real life, is actually quite extraordinary!!

 

image

 P.S.: All the graphic teasers in my review (above)  were made by me, the other (perfect) ones down below were made by the super talented Hang Le, who also made the cover for the book!

 

 

TM-teaser-3

 

teaser

buy the book

The book is U$0.99 for pre-order ONLY, so until today!!

81qgUqK9ilL._SL1260_

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU | iBooks

 

BOOK TRAILER

Here is the AMAZING Book Trailer my BFF and twin, and who I thank for introducing Jane into my life, Audrey, made:

 

author

qupVbuSB

I lived in London for over 10 years and have a love affair with New York. It’s only since I have moved to the countryside, that the words have really begun to flow.

I live in a small village by the ocean and walk my little dog, Pip, every day. It’s on those beachside walks that I have all my best ideas.

Writing has become a way of life – and one that I love to share.

 

Connect with Jane

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon Author Page | Twitter

 

giveaway

Enter here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

love p

 

 

XOXO

 

Carol

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Book Reviews

10 responses to “Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: The Traveling Man (The Traveling Duet #1) by Jane Harvey-Berrick

  1. What an amazing review! I’m just so happy that my story moved you and that you found the magic – the carnival magic, and two young people trying to find their way in the world. THANK YOU! jx

  2. Shirley Wilkinson

    Beautiful review! I am crying already, because I will get to read Traveling Man tomorrow. I will read it slowly. All the more to enjoy Jane’s writing. It’s been too long since her last duet. With this one, there is still another book to come! That just adds to my enjoyment .

  3. Pingback: Book Boyfriends Valentine’s Daily Cards: Kestrel Donohue, Sebastian Hunter and Daniel Coltontian Hunter and Daniel Colton | Beauty and the Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Traveling Woman (The Traveling Duet #2) by Jane Harvey Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Blog Tour and Review: The Traveling Woman (The Traveling Duet #2) by Jane Harvey-Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Character Interview: Kes Donohue from The Traveling Durt by Jane Harvey-Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop and Book Review: Roustabout by Jane Harvey-Berrick | Beauty and the Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Carols Favorite Books of 2015 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

