Blog Tour Stop: The King – Review + Q&A with Tiffany Reisz

The King Banner

Hey everyone!!

This is the book tour I was most expecting lately! It’s no secret my love for The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz. They take me way beyond my comfort zone and I love that!

ADD THE KING TO GOODREADS HERE

The King Cover UK

BOOK SYNOPSIS:

Cunning. Sex. Pure nerve. Only this potent threesome can raise him to his rightful place as ruler of Manhattan’s kink kingdom.

Bouncing from bed to bed on the Upper East Side—handsomely paid in both bills and blackmail fodder—Kingsley Edge is brilliant, beautiful and utterly debauched. No carnal act or chemical compound can relieve his self-destructive apathy—only Søren, the one person he loves without limit or regret. A man he can never have, but in whose hands Kingsley is reborn to attain even greater heights of sin. He plans to open the ultimate BDSM club­: a dungeon playground for New York’s A-list that’ll change the scene forever.

 

RATING: 5 Søren stars

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

MY REVIEW:

Warning: The King is book 2 in the White Years books, but it’s The Original Sinners book 6. If you haven’t read the previous 5 books in the series, please do, because this post might contain spoilers for the story (although it doesn’t have spoilers for The King). Also, the parts in yellow in my review are quotes from The King.

Tiffany Reisz, you have completely ruined me! How am I supposed to live normally again after  your Original Sinners series? If I ever meet Tiffany I’ll have to kiss the ground she steps in (this is a Brazilian saying, I don’t know if you have it in English lol).

In each new book, Tiffany not only surprises me, but she blows me away in a complete way and every installment in this series adds even more the Sinners’ story, specially Nora, Søren and Kingsley’s story. I love knowing their past.

The Saint was absolutely perfect, but The King isn’t behind it. How Tiffany manages to fit the past so perfectly in the story we already know in the present/future is amazing to me! I will never ever doubt Tiffany again! I should have learned my lesson with the Saint!

The King, just like The Saint, starts in the present/future and it’s a story of the past, but this time told by Kinglsey. The story of how he became the king of the Underground Kinky Manhattan. How the 8th Circle began and how he became Kinglsey Edge.

When I read The Siren and when I started the Angel I didn’t like Kingsley that much, because I thought he was, in my first opinion, a jealous little bitch (sorry, Tiffany!). But then, the Angel happened and then The Prince and I started to like Kingsley a lot better. And then The Saint came and he charmed me, made me laugh and I loved his interactions with both Nora and Søren.

And now we have The King, which is a Kingsley Edge extravaganza! And I LOVED every part of it! Kingsley is funny, deep, intense and sexy as hell! But I admit I was jealous of Kingsley on Nora’s behalf (I never learn, because Nora isn’t jealous at all of Søren, she has all the certanty of his love for her and she is the most open-minded female character I know) and, because of the teasers I saw before reading the book, I was afraid. But now after this book there isn’t an ounce of jealousy in my body for any of the characters! Tiffany has done beautifully again and I’m finally getting some answers and more insight to that event…Yeap, that one that shall not be mentioned to some of you (some of my friends still can’t stand the fact that Fionn actually happened)!

We have more insight about Søren, Kingsley and even Nora. But surprisingly we get more insight in what’s been going on in Grace and Fionn’s lives as well. Differently from what I originally thought, this book doesn’t have any Nora direct interactions, and I was surprised to learn that when we see Kingsley in The Saint, despite their familiarity, it was only months after him and Søren had reconnected after Marie-Laure’s supposed death.

“I would play Ravel for you,” Søren said, his voice stiff and formal. “If that’s what it took.”

Kingsley’s eyes flew open.

“I’m not going to make you fuck me just so I’ll help your Virgin Queen. That’s her game, not mine.”


Kingsley and Søren were hilarious and although there was hardly any interactions with Nora I didn’t really miss her!! She was there all the time even when she wasn’t. We can see Søren really was in love with her and I can’t wait to see what comes next into their past!

“You…” Kingsley said. “You’re in love with her.”

Søren didn’t deny it. Kingsley respected him for that.

Honest was its own special brand of sadism.

“I am.”

Even though Kingsley is still much jealous of Nora (and I actually didn’t see his jealousy in The Saint, and he met her for real there. In The King, things happened a bit before it, so he must have been quite jealous during The Saint as well), he can’t help being intrigued by her. After all he dreamed, along with Søren, of having a girl exactly like her for them.

“Don’t hate her. You’ll want to hate her, and both know why. But try to keep your heart open.”

I want to see her reaction when she discovers Søren has slept with Kingsley and their first night together and, although it will break my heart, I really want to see what happens when (and how) she leaves Søren and goes to her mom’s. And then how she becomes The Mistress Nora we know. I think the leaving will take place in The Virgin, but the actual Mistress Nora will happen in The Queen and I’m waiting anxiously for them!

“I should meet our little princess,” Kingsley said.

“Not a princess, a queen.”

Oh, one of my favorite scenes is when Kingsley’s famous “Have you ever had sex in the back of a limo?” was born! It was HAWT! And it may have involved a sadist we know and love!

When Søren and Kingsley were teenagers, Søren was quite wild, not that he is ever tamed, but he has learned to control his impulses better and it’s like he needed King to happen in this life, so he could learn better and later train Nora. It all fits so perfect, you might think Tiffany wrote all this novels together, like in the same time.

“What’s so special about this girl you’re willing to commit felonies on her behalf?”

“Truth?”

“Truth,” Kingsley said.

“She reminds me of you.”

“That’s why you love her?” Kingsley asked hoping the answer was “yes”but knowing it wasn’t.

“That’s why I’m trying to help her.”

We can see here a very uncommon insecure side of Kingsley. Not only that, but we can see that Søren actually don’t love them the same way. He loves both of them, with the same intensity, Kingsley and Nora aren’t more loved than one another, but the way Søren treats them is quite different. He was much crueler to King when they were lovers as teens than he ever was to Nora, but I get now why Tiffany told me in my  The Saint’s blog tour interview about understanding why he treated Kingsley differently but he loved both of them with the same intensity.

And Kingsley recognizes Nora the moment he sees her. He recognizes his equal.

There was no way, none, not a chance in heaven, hell or the purgatory they were living in right now that girl was a submissive. Søren had fallen in love with a baby domme who had a sadistic streak in her as wide as her smile. This girl would have men at her feet all her life by her will or theirs and whether they liked it or not.

 

“You’re going to regret you ever met that girl. She’s a tiger in a kitten’s body.”

Søren smiled enigmatically. “I always liked cats.”

Kingsley only laughted. Time would tell what sort of beast Søren’s little kitten would grow intol. Whatever she turned into, Kingsley could already feel her claws in him.

 

I also loved how Søren really wants to be Kingsley’s friend. We can see he loves Kingsley beyond the physical aspect, specially because he isn’t, as he once said to King, into men. Just him. This new friendship based relationship was a great lesson for Kingsley, because I think he loved Søren, but so much of that love was attached to the physical part and the sex. It’s a bit like what Søren thought Nora in The Saint as well.

“I promise you this,” Søren whispered, “I will never turn my back on you. I will never leave you. I will never forsake you. As long as it’s in my power, I will be your friend, and I will be here for you whenever you need me.”

 

“I treasure the memory of what we had. And I pray we can have somehting even better, deeper now.”

“What?”

“Friendship. A real friendship.”

 

And we get to see how Kingsley actually pays this debt he has with Søren, and it was a great gesture on his part.

The King introduces us to a new character as well, Sam. The girl that works for Kingsley and who is a lesbian, and apparently imune to his charms. I say apparently because who really is imune to Kingsley? We all love Søren and his brooding intensity, but if I speak for myself that if I ever met Kingsley Edge on the streets, I’d jump him right there! Great looks and that sense of humor? Perfect match. I agree with Søren, Nora is very similar to King. We can see how similar when they are joking, they have the same sense of humor and that is something that Søren needs. Don’t get me wrong, Blondie has his own sadist sense of humor (that I greatly appreciate), but he broods too much.

“He invented brooding. He holds the patent on brooding. He gets royalties whenever anyone broods. You just haven’t seen him do it yet.”

 

If you ask me what is my favorite part of this book, I’ll have to say it was King and Sam’s interactions. I really like Sam and I can totally see her being friends with Nora as well. I also LOVED the limo scene (if you’ve read the book already, you know what I’m talking about) and the sleepover one! But I really loved how this book wasn’t solelly a King and Søren book, it had an actual story. It’s set in the past, but it goes in two different pasts sometimes, their teen years, and the years when they reconnected, Søren met Nora and the 8th Circle was created. The story of how the 8th Circle was born is filled with tension and some action and Sam is a crucial piece in it! She is another of the amazing characters Tiffany creates that we can’t help but love.

In The King we can understand a bit more about Søren’s sadism than in The Saint. At least for me it was like that. We know he is a sadist, he gets aroused by inflicting pain, but now we know how he learned to be the sadist he is in the present/future. How he learned to controll it.

“That boy was a king, which is why I took so much pleasure in making him kneel. […] There’s no honor in breaking someone already broken. There’s n o fun in it, either.”

And I also love how we can see Tiffany’s very own sense of humor through her characters.

Here she is being funny, because the new Pope is actually a Jesuit (I wen to school in a Jesuit school actually, like Søren and Kingsley, so I can understand not only the references, but Søren’s relationship with his faith and the Church. As  with Tiffany, Theology fascinates me):

“A Jesuit pope? It’ll never happen.”

In here, we can see a different side of Tiffany’s sense of humor. I loved how she incorporated

 “Among many other things, she told me I would have a son someday. […]”

“She said it would happen by the grace of God. Whatever that means.”

Very well played, Tiffany. I laughed at that and now I can understand why Søren laughed in the end of The Mistress when he is talking with Zach on the phone.

Here is one of the”funny Kingsley quotes”:

“My mother was a saint,” Kingsley said. “I’m the only bitch in the family.”

 

Tiffany has forever changed the way I see love and I catch myself sometimes thinking about them in random times, like when I’m on the bus. There’s just so much to think about him and Nora and Kingsley.

“Twenty years,” Kingsley said again. “All that time, Søren’s been the constant. Him and her.”

I can’t even imagine loving a person like they love each other. With no barries, just complety, unaltered love. That level of love is only able because of the level of trust they have in each other. And they understand each other, they don’t want to change the other. They know exactly who they are loving. That is such a privilegde to know, even if it’s only in fiction. Knowing a love like this is amazing, eye-opening and just amazing.

The founder of the Jesuits, Saint Ignacius de Loyola, have a saying, that is one of the mottoes of my old school, that goes like this “Love is the sharing of being and having”, and I belive that saying can define very well the way Søren loves Nora and Kingsley and they all love each other. It’s fullfiling and complete and a wonderful thing to see and read about!

No matter how deep I go to understand them, I can still go deeper and deeper and I absolutely love that! No other story has ever touched me like theirs. I’ve read some amazing, spectacular books. I’ve read almost 2000 books in my life and I have quite a few number of favorites, each of them different in their own way, but touching me like The Original Sinners is something very, very rare. So I thank you Tiffany, for ruining me. I can’t imagine living in a word that doesn’t have YOUR words for me to think about!

*************

Q&A

Beauty in the Beastly Books: I know that just like mothers with children, authors aren’t supposed to have a favorite character, but which Sinner do you enjoy most writing about and why?

Tiffany Reisz: Oh, I play favorites, I promise. I adore Søren. I can’t stand writing Wesley. So glad I don’t have to write Wes anymore. I love my big three, the UnHoly Trinity of Søren, Nora, and Kingsley. Anytime they’re in a scene together, it’s a blast to write.

 (We can see, because everytime they’re in a scene together I smile like an idiot! It’s a blast to read too!)

Beauty in the Beastly Books: What traits of yours do your Sinners inherit?

Tiffany Reisz: Nora has my sense of humor. Kingsley has my cynicism. Søren has my theological bent and my sadism. He and I both love messing with people’s heads.

 

Beauty in the Beastly Books: After the last White Years book (The Queen), do you plan to write more about Nora, Søren, King and the other Sinners?

Tiffany Reisz: At least once a year I’ll write the Original Sinners Christmas story. I’m working on that now. This is the 4th year I’ve written a Christmas story. And we’ll see what happens next. There might be novellas or a spin-off series. Stay tuned!

Beauty in the Beastly Books: I can honestly say this story is the most complex and eye-opening I’ve ever read! I’m an avid reader, with almost 2000 read books on my list and the Original Sinners are my all time favorite books! I love discussing them, and sometimes I go so deep analyzing some parts and characters that I think I might be getting way out of line with them. Did you ever know from the beginning the way things were going to go or did you change the direction of the story at some point? Like, have all that happened at The Mistress, for example, been planned to happen that way?

Tiffany Reisz: Thank you! I’m so happy to be among your favorite authors. I had ideas from the beginning but they morphed and changed as the series progressed. For example, after writing THE SIREN, I thought it would be fun to have Nora kidnapped or something and then Søren and Wes would have to work together to get her back. At the time I just thought maybe she’d be kidnapped by the IRA or some other organization and she’d have to charm her way out of the mess. But then a file thief showed up in THE ANGEL and someone I thought was dead turned out to be still alive in THE PRINCE and the kidnapper in THE MISTRESS wasn’t a stranger or a terrorist but someone very intimately connected to the Original Sinners.

 

Beauty in the Beastly Books: Writing a complex story like this must be already difficult, then going back and writing how it all began must be twice as difficult. When I finished the Red Years books (the last three in one day) and sent you an email (I’m still embarrassed by that lol), you told me all would make sense in the new books about the past. I have to admit I was skeptical, after all how could a book about their past shed light into all my doubts about their future? And I gotta say, as usual, you nailed it!! For me, it’s been thrilling to see how the characters met and became what they are today. So, what stories did you come up with first, the “original” present ones or the prequel ones? And which ones was the most “difficult” and satisfying to write?

Tiffany Reisz: I told you so! THE SIREN was obviously the first story I came up with. But after that I really wanted to write the book that would be THE SAINT, the story of how Nora and Søren met and fell in love when she was 15 and he a 29 year-old baby Jesuit priest. But the story that really got to me was Michael’s so he became the main focus of THE ANGEL. I wanted the PAST sections in THE PRINCE to be an entire book but my editor wasn’t too keen on that so it became part of THE PRINCE, not the entirety of it. THE PRINCE was supposed to be just Nora and Wes’s story in Kentucky but Kingsley stole the show as he is wont to do. They’ve all been hugely satisfying to write. I’m thrilled that my dream to be able to write all eight books is coming true. Only one book left to write, book eight, THE QUEEN, and that’s that!

Thank you so, so much, Tiffany for answering my questions and as usual your answers were so insightful and wonderful!!!

 

buy the book

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

author

 

Tiffany Reisz author pic 2014Tiffany Reisz lives with herf fiancé (a reformed book reviewer) and two cats (one good, one evil). She graduated with a B.A. in English from Centre College in Danville, Kentucky and is making both her parents and her professors proud by writing BDSM erotica under her real name. She has five piercings, one tattoo, and has been arrested twice.

 When not under arrest, Tiffany enjoys Latin Dance, Latin Men, and Latin Verbs. She dropped out of a conservative southern seminary in order to pursue her dream of becoming a smut peddler. Johnny Depp’s aunt was her fourth grade teacher. Her first full-length novel THE SIREN was inspired by a desire to tie up actor Jason Isaacs (on paper). She hopes someday life will imitate art (in bed).

 If she couldn’t write, she would die.

giveaway

$25 Giftcard from Amazon OR B&N

Enter here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

*************

The King Button

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

XOXO

Carol

8 Comments

Filed under Author Interview, Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Interviews, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Blog Tour Stop: The King – Review + Q&A with Tiffany Reisz

  1. Amazing review!!! Can we be best #OriginalSinners friends?? hahaha I love all the books, and i could relate with everything you write in your review!!!

  2. Pingback: Carol’s Favorite Books of 2014 | Beauty and the Book Blog

  3. Pingback: My Signed Books Collection | Beauty and the Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Virgin (The Original Sinners #7) by Tiffany Reisz | Beauty and the Book Blog

  5. Pingback: ARC Review: The Queen (The Original Sinners #8) by Tiffany Reisz | Beauty and the Book Blog

  6. Pingback: ARC Review: THE CONFESSIONS by Tiffany Reisz | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

