Book Review: Bad Romeo (Starcrossed Lovers #1) by Leisa Rayven

Hey everyone!!

It’s been a while since I posted a book review only post. I usually post the reviews during blog tours, but I miss writing posts out of my head! LOL

BAD ROMEO

rating

 

 

5 stars for sure!!!

 

5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

 

 

 

sinopsis

 

 

When Cassie Taylor met Ethan Holt at acting school, sparks flew. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy about campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing, Cassie and Ethan’s romance seemed destined. Until he broke her heart and betrayed her trust. Now the A-list heartthrob is back in her life and turning her world around. One touch at a time.

Cast as romantic leads once again, they’re forced to confront raw memories of the heartbreaking lows and pulse-pounding highs of their secret college affair. But they’ll also discover that people who rub each other the wrong way often make the best sparks

 

MY REVIEW:

I was approved by NetGalley to read a copy of Bad Romeo and I couldn’t haven’t been happier about it!

WOW! This book!
There isn’t a single thing I didn’t like about this story, what an amazing, fantastic reading this was!

The story just flows and it’s beautiful to see that unique realness it has and how effortless it all happens! This story happens between past and present. When the main characters first met, in acting school/college, and then years later when they meet again. And let me tell you, going between past and present wasn’t confusing at all, I don’t know which I enjoyed most, actually.

I loved their backstory and from the present (it starst with the present) we kind of already knew how things would play out, but really experiencing it can really change the way we feel about the story and the characters. Saying someone was an asshole to you in the past is different than getting to know why and how this person was like that. And well, there isn’t a love story with just one character. So it’s great to see both of them in their past versions to understand their present. Although their present versions actually helped me understand their past versions as well.

Even after a week of having read it my thought are still all over the place. One thing is for sure, though, not only Bad Romeo is one of the best books I’ve read this year, it is one of the best books I’ve read ever!

Ethan Holt is a very different hero than what we are used to seeing. He has his vulnerability stamped on his face, but it doesn’t make him into a pussy and that is why he plays such a good Romeo (I have to agree with him, Romeo is oftenly a pussy and I usually don’t like him at all). And Cassie? It’s refreshing to see a heroine that isn’t afraid to go for what she wants and chase it and than  grow up so much!
We can see both of their growths, even though we don’t see the whole story from their past (it is all explained, it’s not left for imagination, but there will be more in a second book, and I can’t wait to see it).

The thing is that Ethan is the kind of Romeo that is much more believeable than Shakespeare’s. Excuse me, Mr. Shakespeare, but Romeo and Juliet is one of the rare stories I don’t actually like and Rome has a great responsibility for it. Juliet doens’t have a free pass either, but I really like Cassie. And please know I’m not comparing Romeo and Juliet with Bad Romeo. They aren’t even compareable! Ethan and Cassie’s love story has nothing to do with Romeo and Juliet’s, although both of them play them in the theater.

We can see aspects of Romeo and Juliet’s story into theirs, but they are very different stories and I loved that this is not a modern take into Shakespeare’s story. I also really loved to see the behind the scenes in the theater. How all works and their acting training and all. It never bored me, just the opposite. It made me feel more interested in the story!

It’s very hard to explain this story and it isn’t even a matter of giving spoilers (although I’m not giving them), but this story is one that you truly have to experience to understand how it affected me. This is a love story that could have been yours or mine, but then it is so unique and so greatly told in Leisa’s very own way of telling it, that it is relateable, but also fresh!

I absolutely fell in love with Leisa’s refreshing writing style. I really, really liked how she told this story, the going back to past and then coming back to the present, how both love stories played out  (the past and the present). I don’t even consider this a second-chance romance, because it was all so alive and you can’t see the separation of time when she tells the story!

Bravo, Leisa!!! This is an outstanding debut!!

Their story was simply beautiful and more beautiful was reading Leisa’s amazing talented words! What a pleasure and honor it was to read this book!!

 

XOXO

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Book Review: Bad Romeo (Starcrossed Lovers #1) by Leisa Rayven

  1. Pingback: Carol’s Favorite Books of 2014 | Beauty and the Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Book Boyfriends Valentine’s Daily Cards: Ethan Holt | Beauty and the Book Blog

Leave a Reply

