Blog Tour Stop: Captivated by Megan Hart and Tiffany Reisz

Captivated Banner

 

Captivated is a book that contains two stories, one by Megan Hart (Letting Go) and one by Tiffany Reisz (Size the Night). I will be reviewing and rating them separatedly.

 

Captivated cover

sinopsis

 

 

LETTING GO by Megan Hart


Colleen goes to the same bar every night and orders the same drink: a whiskey, neat. She doesn’t drink it, though. Jesse the bartender notices the beautiful, sad woman who keeps to herself. Until one night when she lets go and lets him in. And after that, Jesse has only one mission–to show her one night is only the beginning.

 

RATING: 3.5 Beastly stars

 

3 stars3 stars3 stars2 STAR

 

 

MY REVIEW:

Letting Go was a different story than I’m used to. I’m more used to domineering guys that dominate their heroines and not the other way around.

But that didn’t make me dislike this story, the opposite actually. I quite liked it!

This is the sort of short story that has potential to be a great full-sized book and I felt like it could have been one, because I wanted to see a lot of things more explored.

My favorite character was Jesse and although I  liked Colleen, I think she dealt poorly with the situation with him and I also felt like he took it too well after all, but that’s probably because it was a short story and if it was a normal sized book it probably would have been more explored!

I recommend the book, because I stepped  out of my confort zone and I still enjoyed it, but I wish some characters were more explored and some situations as well.

 

SEIZE THE NIGHT by Tiffany Reisz


Four years ago, a night of forbidden passion between Remi and Julien, the heirs of two powerful and competitive horse-racing families, led to a feud that is threatening to ruin both farms. Now Remi must find Julien again, but when she does, her need for Julien is just as strong and just as forbidden.

RATING: 4 Beastly Stars

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars

 

 

 

MY REVIEW:

In Size the Night, Tiffany Reisz gives us a modern and different take on Romeo and Juliet. If Romeo and Juliet lived in Kentucky and were part of horse breeding royalty.

It’s also a different side of Tiffany, a side I only experienced recently with The Headmaster,because so far I had only read her Original Sinners books, and they are not your typical love story. Not that this one is, but it is a little more close to what we are used to, like for instance it’s not a BDSM story. It shows how versatile Tiffany is.

But what I mostly liked in this story is the humour. I also love the way Tiffany plays with words. She adapted not only the story, but also the characters names, but she did it in reverse. Remi is our heroine and Julien is our hero, not the way around like in Shakespeare’s.

And I LOVED that. If you’re going to do your own version of a story, why not change the name of the characters, their characteristics and also the aftermath of the story?

The story is so funny and the reason for the feud between Remi and Julien’s families can seem so ridiculous that you can actually think that it is something that could happen for real. But then, there are layers through it, although it is funny, but if it was for real, it is a serious subject as well. And that is just one of the million reasons, Tiffany’s sense of humour amazes me so much!

But there is a character that I loved more than our main hero and heroine. And it is Remi’s assistant/sidekick, Merrick. OMG, if I could meet a character from this book, I would FOR SURE choose Merrick.

This story, differently from Letting Go is one that I think it’s perfectly sized as a short story. Not that I would pass away an opportunity to read more Tiffany Reisz, but I think the size of this story suited it perfectly. I really enjoyed this one.

My overeall rating for the Captivated as a whole, not only for its stories, then is a 4 Beastly Stars:

 

4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars

 

 

buy the book

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

author

Tiffany Reisz author pic 2014Tiffany Reisz lives with her boyfriend (a reformed book reviewer) and two cats (one good, one evil). She graduated with a B.A. in English from Centre College in Danville, Kentucky and is making both her parents and her professors proud by writing BDSM erotica under her real name. She has five piercings, one tattoo, and has been arrested twice.

 When not under arrest, Tiffany enjoys Latin Dance, Latin Men, and Latin Verbs. She dropped out of a conservative southern seminary in order to pursue her dream of becoming a smut peddler. Johnny Depp’s aunt was her fourth grade teacher. Her first full-length novel THE SIREN was inspired by a desire to tie up actor Jason Isaacs (on paper). She hopes someday life will imitate art (in bed).

 If she couldn’t write, she would die.

Twitter: @TiffanyReisz  https://twitter.com/tiffanyreisz

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/littleredridingcrop

Website: http://www.tiffanyreisz.com/

giveaway

Enter  here for a chance to win: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Signed paperback of Captivated

$25 Giftcard from Amazon or B&N

e-book copy of MISBEHAVING by Tiffany Reisz

e-book copy of CAPTIVATED feat. Tiffany Reisz

e-book copy of Harlequim E-Shivers Box Set vol.  4

Captivated Button

XOXO

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

