Book Review: Shameless by Nina Lemay

Hey everyone!!

It’s been a while since I’ve written a review on the blog besides the blog tours reviews…My schedule lately is just HECTIC! I just started Law School and between that and my several jobs, time has been passing so fast!!

SHAMELESSBook Synopsis:

Girls like me don’t get happy endings.

I know what I am. At worst a cliché, at best a cautionary tale. I put an international border between me and my past, only to wind up working in a low-end titty bar. Even my excuse is as lame as it gets: I’m paying for college, getting my art degree from Montreal’s most prestigious school. Although some days it becomes confusing: am I just a student who moonlights as a stripper, or a stripper who masquerades as a student?

But the inevitable happens and my two lives collide. And now there’s one other person who knows both the quiet, antisocial Hannah and the sensual, shameless Alicia. One person who keeps my secret.

He’s beautiful, he’s sophisticated. He comes from the other side of life, the one where I’m not wanted or accepted. But he calls me la petite Américaine, and his hot, hot hands on my skin promise me things I long ago gave up on.

The problem? He teaches my Classic Photography class.

This is a standalone novel, no series, no cliffhanger.

 

Rating: 2.5 – 3 stars

My Review:

First of all, I loved the cover of Shameless. Not only it is beautiful, but it actually has something to do with the story (I get so tired of those covers that have nothing to do with the books)!

Now about the book…Shameless is a book I wasn’t certain if I’d like when I heard about it. Stripper books are very tricky and I believe I haven’t liked any before.

Hannah, despite of her opinion about herself, is not your cliché stripper paying for her education. She thinks herself as shallow when actually she is deeper than a lot of characters I’ve read about.

This story is actually quite poetic and deep and I did enjoy it. It was sad and desperate, I could feel like I was in Hanna’s shoes once or twice in my life. She has no aspirations, she’s desperate, sad and alone…

Than she meets Emmanuel. He is her unwilling client. And he is her new teacher. He wants to show her the world, but deep down he doesn’t accept who she is and what she does because of his own past.

I missed knowing more about both Emmanuel and Hannah. There was no real back story and by the end, it could really make a difference in the whole story,  in my opinion. It didn’t prevent me from enjoying the book to some level, but it did prevent me from connecting more with it, in a higher level.

Also, I thought Emmanuel’s big secret was a big chiché. Well, not so much a cliché, but more like something really fabricated, it didn’t seem very real. It was quite shallow and random to me and  I would have even accept it better if it had had some outcome from his big mystery to his present (and future).

Also, I missed any good supporting characters. Emmanuel’s friend from the beginning of the book just disappeared (I kept hoping I would see him again) and well, we have no real background on Emmanuel’s life or his friendships. Emmanuel was not a loner, designed just to be Hannah’s leading man, so  I wanted to see him being a person outside of Hannah. I know he had friends, but I would have liked to see it, instead of having just a hint of who he is. I also wanted to see Hannah being a little less depressing.

Because the story missed important things as the main characters’ background and supporting characters, it fell a bit flat towards the middle and when it started to pick up again, it didn’t really picked up. 😦

My favorite thing about this book was Hannah and how she had been misinterpredted and misunderstood. But I wanted more. More for her and more for both of them as a couple.

Although she was my favorite character, there were something things that really bothered me about Hannah. And the biggest one of those is that she was a doormat! She let everyone stomp on her and she kept quiet! She had options and in one of the most disturbing scenes, she didn’t even fight back. She just rolled with it and accept it. It was such a disappointment and also very disturbing to me. I get that she felt like she didn’t deserve to be loved or even the simpathy of others, but it was a bit too much…There’s a level of desperation and depression I can accept as real. And I doubt a real person would just accept what happened between Hannah and her elder teacher without at least a bit of a fight. Specially because it haven’t happened before, so she shouldn’t be as resigned  as she was.

As I said, I missed more about the characters and I believe Emmanuel and Hannah have the potential to be a great couple, but right now they don’t feel much like one. They feel too disconnected from the real world and I actually liked both of them, but I wanted them to seem more real. Yes, they both had a kind of desperation that pulled them apart of the rest of the world. It was like they  they lived alone in it, but they don’t. I can get Hannah not making friends, but I know Emmanuel is a friendly person, so where was his family and friends? I want to know what makes my characters who they are in the books and unfortunately I missed it in this one.

It was, however, an enjoyable read. I wanted more of it, because I know it could turn out to be so much more!

BUY THE BOOK

 

XOXO

Carol

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

