Book Review: Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey

Hey peeps!!

How are you? I’ve been MIA (again)…I actually meant to write this post a couple weeks ago, but with training for my new job and the World Cup here in Brazil, I’ve been a bit busy…

But here I am…I hope you enjoy this review as much as I enjoyed the book, which was A LOT!!

Rating: 5 smiley stars

Book Synopsis:

What started out as a joke— seduce Coach Wilder—soon became a goal she had to score.

With Olympic tryouts on the horizon, the last thing nineteen-year-old Kinsley Bryant needs to add to her plate is Liam Wilder. He’s a professional soccer player, America’s favorite bad-boy, and has all the qualities of a skilled panty-dropper.

• A face that makes girls weep – check.
• Abs that can shred Parmesan cheese (the expensive kind) – check.
• Enough confidence to shift the earth’s gravitational pull – double check.

Not to mention Liam is strictly off limits . Forbidden. Her coaches have made that perfectly clear. (i.e. “Score with Coach Wilder anywhere other than the field and you’ll be cut from the team faster than you can count his tattoos.”) But that just makes him all the more enticing…Besides, Kinsley’s already counted the visible ones, and she is not one to leave a project unfinished.

Kinsley tries to play the game her way as they navigate through forbidden territory, but Liam is determined to teach her a whole new definition for the term “team bonding.”

My Review:

I’m a big fan of Rachel (R.S. Grey) since I read With This Heart (click to see my review 😉 ), she’s not only an amazing writer, gorgeous, but also the sweetest person! When she first started posting teasers for Scoring Wilder I immediately became excited to read it and when I received my ARC I swooned LOL

Although I’m a (BIG) fan of dark books and mind f***ck stories, a good, well-written “light” book can totally be added to my favorites list (which was the case with both Rachel’s books). I actually believe that because of the fact I like those dark stories, the sweet, light ones work harder to please me…But R.S. Grey’s books don’t even need to work for me to like them, she makes me wish I was inside her stories and be a part of the crew! It’s hightly entertaining, but also moving and they make me feel included!

There’s nothing better than to feel included and reading for me has always been a sort lonely past-time, I usually didn’t have anyone to talk book with and just recently I’ve met my book friends (I have one friend here that likes to read too – a bit shout out to Alice!!!), so whenever I feel included in a story the author gets brownie points with me!!

Scoring Wilder is a very different story than With This Heart. Starting with the heroine. I loved Kinsley, she is super fun and if she was an actual person I can totally see myself being friends with her! Her friendship with Becca was one of my top favorite things about this book, they are hilarious together (the batgirl scene is one of my faves, who knows me, will understand since one of my nicknames is batgirl)…

And then there’s Liam Wilder! Holy hotness! He is fun, gorgeous, hot, a reformed bad boy, and a soccer player! With the Word Cup you can all see how hot soccer can be (Brazil is called the soccer nation but I rarely find our players hot, I wish Liam played here)! And Liam…he is the embodiment of how any player should be, not only because he is gorgeous and charming, but also because he is fair and loyal to his teammates and a great coach too! I know nothing about soccer despite being Brazilian, but I could totally start learning just to have him as a coach…

But besides Liam, Kinsley and Becca, there are other great characters and those ones not so great like the überbitch Tara…and this story will make you feel like crawling inside your book or e-reader and be at college with them, going to their parties and being friends with them…

With This Heart made me want to go on a roadtrip through the States (a long dream of mine actually) and Scoring Wilder made me want to go to college there and live all these amazing experiences!

If I was to resume this book in word it would be FRIENDSHIP. Yes, this is a book about the romance between Kinsley and Liam, but it also is about friendship, it’s about the friends you make in college and how to be a good teammate and even about Liam and Kinsley’s friendship as well…I loved their interaction, how they met and how they inteacted through all the book. I was expecting the direaction of the romance to be different than it was and I am glad it is different! I loved how it played out! I was surprised by it and how mature it felt…I don’t like insta-love very much and I love a good courtship (I sound so Jane Austish lol)…I like to see a love and a relationship being developed and that’s what make a story feel real to me.

And Scoring Wilder is pretty real! Despite being a famous soccer player, Liam could be a guy you meet at a party and Kinsley could be a girls you become best friends with in college. I loved how they could be my friends and it felt so good to be a part of it!

When I received my ARC I was in great need of a book like it, I was tired of the darkness and nothing could catch my attention enought for me to finish it and I actually commented with Alice (the friend I mentioned above) how I couldn’t wait for Scoring Wilder and how I wish it was released sooner, because I knew it would be the type of book I wanted…One day later, I had an ARC and I was so extremely happy about it!

A light book is not something easy to please me, yes, I’ve been known for reading them and yes, I like a lot of them, but actually love it to the point of wanting it to be my life? That’s rare lately! I’ve became a very picky reader and sometimes even I think I’m being over-critic about a book,  but when I like it, I like it! I couldn’t stop  smiling for a second while reading Scoring Wilder (btw, Rachel, you get major brownie points for mentioning Harry Potter…I’m a HUGE fan of the series and it is what got me really hooked on reading 10 years ago!) and that’s what make me LOVE a book!

When a book makes you feel pationate about it, smile while reading, want to be a part of the story and love it, no matter what is the genre, dark, erotica, YA, NA, you simply can not rate it highly!

And for me a great author is not only known for writing an amazing series or a standlone, but also, and sometimes mostly because of it, for writing different types of stories, but yet amazing!

At 5% of it I messaged Rachel to tell her how glad I was about reading it. When less than 5% into the story made me already love the book, that’s what a good book is about. Sometimes we get hooked on a book to later be disappointed, and this was not the case! I enjoyed it from page 1 to the last! Oh, I also asked her to come up with a guy for me! Seriously, I need one of her heros for myself haha

Oh, let’s not forget she does her own covers! How delicious are those abs??? I love, love, love a good cover! It shows us the author really cares about the book and puts a lot of work into it, so it must be a good story 😉

I’m fangirling a lot, but I’m seriously in love with her books! I love how one book can make you find so many new friends, specially how can it make you interact with an author! It never ceases to amaze me and that’s my friends, is why I love to read! Not only for the book, but for the book talk too!

I read Scoring Wilder in one setting and it made me sleep a happy, happy girl! If you love hot players, funny heroines, great friendships and romance, Scoring Wilder is the book for you! If you don’t , it can certainly make you change your mind about those!!

If I found more books like it, maybe I’d be a more “lighter” reader haha

If this book was a person I’d not only wished to its best friend, but I’d also be in love with it!!

XOXO

Carol

P.S.:If you want to check the book out, click on the image 😉

3 Comments

Filed under ARC, Book Reviews

3 responses to “Book Review: Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey

  1. Pingback: Release Day Blitz: Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey | Sex and the Books

  2. Pingback: Carol’s Favorite Books of 2014 | Beauty and the Book Blog

  3. Pingback: ARC Review: The Allure of Dean Haper (The Allure #2) by R.S. Grey | Beauty and the Book Blog

Leave a Reply

