Blog Tour Stop: Angel After Dark (After Dark Series #1) by Kahlen Aymes

BlogTour_Banner

Hi everyone!!

I’m baaack!!! I will post later about my trip, but I need to say this now…How I missed my reading!!! I spent more than 15 days without reading a single book!!! I’ve never been this much time without reading, since I’m 16!!!

And one of the first books I read since I came back is Angel After Dark!

If you’ve seen my list of Favorite Books of 2013, you saw  Kahlen’s name on it (more than once)…I love her Remembrance Trilogy!!

20131217_AngelAfterDark-kindleCov_TH

Rating: 4.5 stars

Book Synopsis:

Dr. Angeline Hemming is a beautiful, sassy, no-nonsense type of girl who has risen from a difficult past to become one of Chicago’s most successful and respected criminal profilers. In exchange for free commercials to promote her favorite charitable causes, Angel answers calls and gives relationship advice on a Friday night radio program.

Alexander Avery is a gorgeous and successful corporate genius who doesn’t believe in love. When his girlfriend-of-convenience calls into Angel’s program, he is furious with the show’s host who doles out (what he considers) blind advice, without knowing all the facts… and he decides to give her a piece of his mind, and his side of the story!

When Angel informs Alex he’s the one in need of a much-deserved lesson, all hell breaks loose as these two type-A personalities battle it out for control over minds and hearts, and yes, in bed. Not only are they fighting each other at every turn, but they are also struggling to uphold the convictions they each live by.

It’s unclear who is stronger, but both must discover that to get what they desperately want, they may have to give a little… or a lot.

 My Review:

There’s no question how much Ms. Aymes is talented! She got me hooked on Angel’s story since the beginning!

This story  for me, as usual with Kahlen’s stories, was very real and relateable. I enjoyed reading it immensely, I had fun, laughed, rooted for the characters, sometimes got mad at them…I really liked it!

Angel is a very relatable and character and seeing how low she has hit, made my heart break, not only for her, but for Alex too! She overcame so much, but her road is still a very hard one. She is a though cookie to break (with reason) and I loved to see her bantering with Alex.

In some ways, she is really mature, but in others, she is still insecure and I think that this is a huge dilemma for her, after all she is respected psychologist, used to work with criminal minds, and also with love problems, but when it comes to her own love problems, she is only human, like the rest of the world. But this doesn’t mean she is a dumb, sappy girl in love. Oh no, Dr. Angeline is  the strongest woman Alex has met, and the duality of innocence and sexy, insecurity and confidence and also her intelligence, has him head over heels since the beginning…

It doesn’t hurt that she is gorgeous and has that sweet and sexy voice he loves so much!

For his part, Alex isn’t your typical womanizer player. He is always monogamous and in his own ways care about his lady companions…He found his perfect match in Angeline. They can banter for hours or discuss intelligent matters…She challenges him, just as much as he does to her. He is also a walking contradiction and she is more than charmed by it…He is gorgeous, has also a sexy male voice and successful, but he is also caring, a great friend and falls hard for her.

I loved their banter, specially on air on Angel’s radio show Angel After Dark..it was hilarious, sweet and enlightening!

The big problem for both of them is learning to trust each other (and in Angel’s case, also herself), and to communicate better with each other. Angel doesn’t speak of the threat she’s been into and Alex on the other hand, doesn’t tell her that not only he knows everything about it (and even a little bit more than her), but he is doing everything that he can to help the woman he loves…

And then the story ends…Don’t worry, it doesn’t end in a cliffy, I just wish it didn’t end so suddenly. It does have a lot of story yet to cover, so I am sad that it ended so soon (I was enjoying their evolution and connection so much and I didn’t keep track of how many pages were left, so I was a bit shocked when it ended LOL), but on the other hand I’m happy that there will be more!!

Kahlen managed to captivate my attention again and I can’t wait for the next book!!!

*******************************

BUY THE BOOK:

AMAZON | SMASHWORDS

perf5.500x8.500.indd

BOOK TRAILER:

Angel After Dark by Kahlen Aymes Teaser Trailer from Heather Maven on Vimeo.

ABOUT KAHLEN AYMES:

headshot

Amazon Bestselling Author, Kahlen is an award-winning author of sizzling hot, deeply moving contemporary romance. Her stories are filled with intense love, passion, angst and emotion that breathes life into her characters and leaves her readers captivated. She lives near Omaha, Nebraska with her daughter, Olivia and their three dogs. Creative by nature, she enjoys the arts, music and theater… But the love of her life is writing!

Social Links:

 

XOXO

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour, Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

