Book Review: When It Rains by Lisa De Jong

I usually trust and agree with Aesta’s reviews and recommendations (not to mention she is my blogger muse!!), but I didn’t read her review of When It Rains until after I finished reading it. It was a good thing, because I wouldn’t resist not to see the spoilers and, as usual, I agree with her!

I feel very conflicted about this review, but at the same time nothing better than being honest, right?!

when it rainsRating: 3 stars

Book Synopsis:

One night changed my life forever.

Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it’s more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can’t.

I haven’t told anyone.

I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone.

Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn’t care who I used to be, he’s simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life.

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve been saved.

And I’ve found hope.

I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down…

Again.

My Review:

I am very, VERY conflicted about writing this review…
This story has what I usually look for in a book and, even though I cried my eyes out and felt so emotional over it, in the end it didn’t do that much for me!I can explain only a little why that happened, I just feel that way…
On the other hand this was amazingly written, so there lays the reason for being conflicted! I loved Lisa De Jong’s writing style, it is inspiring and the story is quite beautiful, if you let go of the fact that Kate annoyed me a lot. I’m not saying she was wrong all the time, some of her decisions were, though…
For me Asher is what make me hooked on this book! He is my kind of book boyfriend! But I do agree the way Kate opened up to him almost instantly was a bit appalling…after all Ben was there the whole time. but who am I to judge who people can open up to?
It’s not even fair to create teams here, but Asher is my favorite character, he wasn’t aleays right but i loved him and what he did for Kate. He brought her back from her own self…I just don’t agree with her choices after…I kind of feel like Beau was her consolation prize, and even liking him, it was a bit too sudden to suddenly love him again! If it was her choice, she wouldn’t be with him, so no, she can’t say he is the “love of her life” like she said…
The story is very emotional and sad sometimes, but it is beautiful…
Overall this is a 4.0/5.0 stars reading, but for me it just didn’t do it, no matter how much I actually liked it…i have to be honest, right?!
I want to see more of Lisa’s writing, she knows her way around words, that’s for sure! She has talent AND technique, she knows how to make her words sing and I loved to discover her, regardless of my rating for the story…If I was rating only the writing, I’d give it 5+ stars!!!

Buy the book from AMAZON here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

