Blog Tour Stop: A Little Too Far (A Little Too Far #1) by Lisa Desrochers

ALTF

Let’s talk about a book that will get you HOOKED! I couldn’t put it down and at times, it got me quite confused in whose team I was LOL
A Little Too Far button2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I seriously loved the cover. In not showing the faces of the two characters it doesn’t want to reveal anything and it also can symbolize that anyone could be any of those two. We can relate to the story even though we haven’t been (and won’t probably been) through what the characters went.

RELEASE DATE: September 17th 2013 by HarperCollins

So here is my review of it:

17786125

Rating: 5 sexy-taboo stars

Book Synopsis:

Have you ever gone just a little too far?

Lexie Banks has.

Yep. She just had mind-blowing sex with her stepbrother. In her defense, she was on the rebound, and it’s more of a my-dad-happened-to-marry-a-woman-with-a-super-hot-son situation. But still, he’s been her best friend and confidant for the better part of the last few years … and is so off limits. It’s a good thing she’s leaving in two days for a year abroad in Rome.

But even thousands of miles away, Lexie can’t seem to escape trouble. Raised Catholic, she goes to confession in hopes of alleviating some of her guilt … and maybe not burning in hell. Instead, she stumbles out of the confessional and right into Alessandro Moretti, a young and very easy-on-the-eyes deacon … only eight months away from becoming a priest. Lexie and Alessandro grow closer, and when Alessandro’s signals start changing despite his vow of celibacy, she doesn’t know what to think. She’s torn between falling in love with the man she shouldn’t want and the man she can’t have. And she isn’t sure how she can live with herself either way.

My Review:

Well, I’m sure by now everybody knows I’m the queen of the dark readings! LOL But don’t worry this is not a dark one!

It does have two taboos in its story and I liked very much how Lisa Desrochers introduced and developed them in A Little Too Far, because it didn’t become a dark reading. It talks about forbidden things? Yes. Taboo? Sure. But in a light, fun way.

I absolutely loved Lexie! She is a funny and passionate girl and her confusion towards Trent, her stepbrother, with whom she slept with (actually whom just about shattered her world with mind-blowing sex ;D ) is justified. She is leaving for Italy to start a semester of college abroad and there she meets a soon to be Father. A hot, young one, named Alessandro and they become really close. Soon the lines start to blur and not only the characters, but us, the readers, will be confused about who we want to be with Lexie.

I liked Trent since the beginning, but I felt in love with Alessandro since he first appeared. He is a beautiful person with a blessed soul. And despite his choice to become a Father, he is still struggling with it. And Lexie will shatter his world and all he thought was right for him.

But is she right for him? Is Alessandro right for her? Or is Trent and hers relationship doomed to be damned to hell?

A Little Too Far deals with catholic beliefs, family, friendship, love, art and beautiful, passionate Italy! I can’t wait for the other book in this series! And don’t you worry, there’s no cliffhanger in the end of this reading 😉

Lisa Desrochers handled two taboo subjects with extremely brilliance, and the book didn’t turn into a angst driven, dark one. Even though I love those types of books, it just wouldn’t fit into Lexie’s story. I loved how the story and the characters are relatable, we feel like they’re our friends and even though I felt like there was some tiny minor lose ends towards the end of the book, it just won’t drag my rating down. The way the story was constructed was just perfect and I loved how we can grow up with Lexie in her journey to become a mature young woman.

We don’t need to actually travel to Italy for it, we can experience it through Lexie’s feelings and story and this is what I find most amazing about how Lisa created these characters and this story in general.

Now I need the other books ASAP! 🙂

BOOK TRAILER:

Here’s a little something for you, a scene in Trent’s POV!!

TRENT’S POV – Trent drunk dials Lexie

This party blows.

Who the hell am I kidding? Every party blows. Every thing blows, because I can’t stop wishing I was somewhere else. Rome, to be exact.

What’s she doing right now?

I try to ignore slurping sounds from the other end of the couch as the couple there starts getting serious, and I feel like telling them to get a room, but I have no fucking clue who they are. Wouldn’t matter anyway. George and his roommate only have two bedrooms, and they’re most likely already in use.

Is Lexie sleeping with anyone?

Damn. I need to stop.

I slouch deeper into the sagging couch and pull out my phone to check the time, but I can hardly see it through my beer goggles. Midnight. So that means it’s…something like nine tomorrow morning in Italy. What the hell day is it? Does Lexie have class?

“Hey, Trent. Got you another beer,” Becca yells over the music, staggering across the living room with two red plastic cups. She catches her toe on the couch and beer sloshes onto my stomach, where my T-shirt’s creeped up. “Whoops!” she giggles. “Clean up on aisle four!” She sets the beers on the coffee table and wedges herself between my knees, kneeling down and slurping the beer out of my navel. But when she reaches for the button of my jeans, I stand up and let the rest dribble under the waistband, because things are starting to happen down there, thinking of Lexie, and I don’t want to give Becca the wrong idea. “Get up, Becca.”

“I wasn’t done yet,” she pouts, dragging herself off the floor onto the couch.

I wipe the rest on my T-shirt. “I’m good. Thanks.”

“Who are you texting?” she asks, looking at my phone, and that’s when I realize it’s still in my hand.

“My stepsister.” I wasn’t, but I want to. God, I want to. I want to tell her everything. I want her to know how I feel. But this is so royally fucked up. “Shit!” I growl through a clenched jaw, dropping back into the couch. I rub a hand down my face, trying to resist the urge, but the beer’s making it tough. I want her so goddamn much.

“Dance with me, Trent,” Becca wines, tugging on my arm.

“Not tonight, Becca. Sorry,” I say, queuing up Lexie’s number and pressing call before I can change my mind. I peel Becca’s hand off my thigh and set it on hers as it rings.

She answers almost immediately, like she was expecting a call. “I’m sorry! I just—”

“Lex,” I interrupt. “It’s me.”

“Oh, hey,” she says slowly, and the wary tone in her voice nearly kills me. We were never like this. Everything’s always been so easy between us. “What’s up?”

“I just … shit Lexie …” I shouldn’t have called. Shit. The drone of the crowd chattering over the music’s giving me a headache and I can’t think.

“Where are you?” she asks.

“Just a stupid par—”

But that’s as far as I get before Becca jumps in my lap and rips the phone out of my hand. “Who are you talking to?”

“Get off me and give me back the goddamn phone,” I slur, trying not to shove her off too hard.

“Who is this?” Becca asks into the phone. There’s a pause, then she says, “Whatever,” as I grab the phone back and set her on the couch.

“Lex? You still there?” I ask.

“Yeah, I’m here,” she says on a sigh. And God, I want to climb right through this phone and see her. “Are you okay?”

Everything I want to say swells up inside me. I am totally, 100 percent in love you, Lexie. “I just needed to hear your voice,” I finally say. “I miss you.”

“I miss you too,” she says.

“I just … I want you so fucking much right now. Shit, Lexie. I can’t even …” I trail off again, because this isn’t coming out right. The beer is getting in the way, garbling my thoughts.

“You’re drunk, Trent. Where are you?”

“Just George’s apartment.”

“Are you okay to get home?” she asks. “Is there someone there who can help you get home?”

I want to tell her home is wherever she is, but that’s just so fucking lame. But while I’m trying to think of something else, Becca leaps on me again and tears the phone out of my hand.

“Seriously, Becca. Get off me,” I say, grabbing for the phone.

“I’m drunk,” she says, pressing end call. “I think you should walk me back to my apartment.

I look at my phone and wait for it to ring. If Lexie calls back, I’ll tell her.

But it doesn’t.

I have to get past this. I have to stop wanting something I can’t have.

Becca wraps her hands around my arm and presses into my side. “Take me home, Trent.”

I blow out a breath. I really need to get out of here. “Yeah. Okay.”

                                                                 *************

ALTF excerpt 1 ALTF excerpt 2

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

3342174

Lisa Desrochers lives in central California with her husband and two very busy daughters. There is never a time that she can be found without a book in her hand, and she adores stories that take her to new places, and then take her by surprise.

Look for her New Adult novel, A LITTLE TOO FAR , courtesy of HarperCollins Sept 17, 2013, and companions, A LITTLE TOO MUCH (Nov 12, 2013), and A LITTLE TOO HOT (Jan 21, 2014). Also in stores is her YA PERSONAL DEMONS trilogy (Macmillan).

For more info, find me on-line at https://www.facebook.com/LisaDesroche…, or visit www.lisadwrites.com


GIVEAWAY:

And here is the giveaway! Make sure you enter it, prizes include an iPod Mini, pendant, tote bags, temporary tattoos, and annotated chapters of ALTF: a Rafflecopter giveaway

LBTS Tours Button

If I don’t post anything more, you all have a great weekend!! 😀

XOXO

Carol

2 Comments

Filed under ARC, Blog Tour

2 responses to “Blog Tour Stop: A Little Too Far (A Little Too Far #1) by Lisa Desrochers

  1. Pingback: Chapter 1 of Dumblight | FanFiction Fridays

  2. caolina villegas

    Hi I am from Chile and arrive to your book that was recommended to me, is very good, I wish you could sell it abroad, but translated into Spanish

Leave a Reply

