Book Review: Arsen by Mia Asher

arsen

Rating: 5 can-I-give-more-freaking sexy stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

One glance was all it took…

I’m a cheater.
I’m a liar.
My whole life is a mess.

I love a man.
No, I love two men…
I think.

One makes love to me. The other sets me on fire.
One is my rock. The other is my kryptonite.

I’m broken, lost, and disgusted with myself.

But I can’t stop. This is my story.
My broken love story.

My Review:

Well, first of all, let me tell you, Mia Asher is a GENIOUS! Seriously, I thought I was hating everything on this book and even so, I was so freaking HOOKED! I couldn’t put it down for nothing!!!

And I was not hating anything, just how frustrated the leading female character, Catherine (or Cathy), was making me feel!

This is really the best book ever! It is definitely on my top list for this year!

I hated Catherine so much but then I get to understand and root for her! That’s the beauty of Mia Asher’s writing. She can make you hate, but also feel sorry (sometimes LOL) and then happy for her characters…

And I loved every freaking second of Ben. He is my favorite book boyfriend/husband!

Catherine was so selfish and there’s no denying it, it was all her fault and she build her own coffin…But then, she realizes it! And her best friend Amy was right…she needed to comunicate better, not only with Ben, but with herself and what she really needed instead of cheating on him and want to not think about her problems.

Nobody is perfect, and Cathy definitely isn’t! She is full of flaws and hate for herself and she blames her problems on others and instead of dealing with them properly she starts to act impulsively and to hurt the one person that always put her first! Catherine deserves love and she realized that she was talking Ben’s love for grant, but it didn’t stop her from hurting him as she did. Deep down she knows that it is wrong, but she can’t stop to cheat and hurt him and, in the process, herself!

In my opinion she was never in love with Arsen, but who am I to say it? He broke my heart a little, but I still can’t forget him for the pain he caused to my beloved Ben (after everything that happened, Ben needs to seek comfort in MY arms LOL)! He is so immature! I normally root for the underdogs, but I just couldn’t like him. Not after seeing how great Ben was from the first beginning!

This books shows us the past of Ben and Cathy’s relationship, how it started and was built and it shows us the present, the angry and bitter Catherine. Her selfish ways and the way she met Arsen, the bad boy who is actually a good guy (when he wants), but is immature as hell. I understand why Catherine needs him and why she wants to feel young and loved, but she needs to realize that she is already loved by everyone! Just not herself!

Thank God she started her therapy and also started to heal herself…but sometimes to heal a wound we need to burn it, cauterize it and that’s what happened to her!

This book is about angst, betrayal, learning to love, specially yourself and about burning…burning desire and burning love..

I don’t know if there’s to teams to choose here, but I’m 100% (from the first word until the last) team Ben!!

After finishing Arsen, I still didn’t know what to think, that’s I waited a week to write my full review. It got me crying and then the story was unfolding and healing itself and myself in the process. Mia Asher’s talented writing can’t be explained, it has to be experienced!

I loved to see Cathy’s past and present…too see how she felt in and out of love and to root for her to get better! I absofreakinglutely loved this book!!!It is brilliant!!!

XOXOCarol

5 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

5 responses to “Book Review: Arsen by Mia Asher

  1. This book is STILL stuck in my head weeks later! Great review hun xxx

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Sex and the Books

  3. Pingback: Valentine’s Daily Special: Ben Stanwood from Arsen by Mia Asher | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

