Review: Becoming More by Bayli Lane

Hi everyone!

I hope you’re all enjoying your Sunday!!!

I should have posted this review sooner, but sometimes I found it difficult to catch up with my reviews, I just want to read, read, read! LOL #CONFESSIONSOFABOOKJUNKIE

Anyway, here we go…

ebook cover

Rating: 4.5 sexy stars

Goodread Synopsis:

At first it was all freedom, fun, and games for Lilly Fairfield. Being a freshman in college was supposed to create some of the best memories of her life, especially with her best friend, Lauren, and longtime boyfriend, Sander, by her side.

But the excitement begins to slip away when the people closest to her start to change. They begin moving in a direction Lilly doesn’t want to go, forcing Lilly to be faced with a decision. Should she fight for her relationships with both Sander and Lauren or move on to something different? Something unknown. Someone like…

Colton Davenport. Colton isn’t Lilly’s typical type. He’s shockingly sexy with his colorful tattoos, shiny silver lip ring, and ear gauges. His smile alone leaves her breathless. Then again, she hasn’t had a specific type other than Sander. When she meets Colton she feels an automatic attraction that stuns her into utter stillness. She can’t look away, doesn’t want to look away.

Lilly must decide between a life with Sander, a life she always thought she wanted, and an unknown path with Colton.

Will Lilly make the right choices for her future, Becoming More?

My Review:

I remember when I first met Bayli in a FB book group, she just posted a teaser and I was like “What book is this from? I want it right NOW!!!” and she told me it was her book and it would be released this summer. I was so impressed and I thought it was so cool to be talking with someone who was writing her own book, someone who looked to be (and is) just like us…she also gave me some pointers and advices from the perspective of a new, self-publishing author and if I ever go back to writing my own stories I just hope to have the courage that she (and so many others of our beloved authors out there) has!

Bayli is one of the sweetest girls out there for sure! I feel so honored to have been mentioned on her book, and also to know her at all! Bayli, girl, you rock!

Well, there were things I loved and small things I didn’t like (and that didn’t prevent me to be hooked) in this book…First thing I loved, for sure,  is Colton. He is FREAKING AWESOME!!! A perfect blend of sweet and badass. Bayli should create a man for me in real life, seriously! I also loved how the book started with Lilly and Sander’s promises to each other, showing us how our young, high school dreams can have an influence in our lives.

Lilly…well, I feel conflicted about her, because even though she is our heroine, she is not my favorite character in the book…She was a little be naïve and I understand, because it is really difficult to believe that our old loves and friendships might not be right as we thought they were…

I hate Sander’s guts with all my heart and I was almost yelling at my Ipad and throwing it at the wall, because Lilly was being so stubborn and trying to fix someone who, first, didn’t deserve and second, didn’t want to be fixed! And I couldn’t forgive her for making MY Colton suffer in the process of discovering herself (Bayli, you managed to get me really passionate about Colton).

Some scenes and parts were a little bit too fast-paced, but maybe I just wanted the book to be bigger so I could read more of Bayli’s writting 😛

Another character I freaking loved was Clarissa! She was sweet and so badass! Her connection with Lilly was instant, and it just shows us that sometimes the friends you thought you knew forever might not be the right ones for you and meeting new people, actually is not only good, but it is GREAT for us! I also got the sense that there was more to Clarissa’s story and advices to Lilly, than we are seeing…I wouldn’t mind reading her story!!! 🙂

Lilly and Colton are perfect for each other, but both of them need to see it…Only one of them is not enough to make them last as a couple. I understand Lilly and why she feels so torn about leaving Sander, but after all that he puts her through, for me, she shouldn’t have any doubts about this character. But people sometimes need to experience things on their own, it’s not enough to be told things are not ok…

Even though I loved Clarissa more than Lilly, it didn’t prevent me of enjoying the story! Even if I didn’t like any of it (which is SO NOT the case!!), Colton alone would make me fall in love with it!

Bayli found the perfect way to tell us her story, I just wish this book was longer, so we could savor more of the story and some parts wouldn’t be a little bit rushed. Bayli’s writing style is really good! Her story and characters a mix of funny, snark and love, and I can’t wait to see more of her writing!

Becoming More is a tale of love, but not only romantic love…your friend’s love is just as important! In high school we are yet too young to understand that life is full of choices and that, even if we can’t get back in time and change some of our choices, we can certainly make new ones. In Becoming More is clear to see that high school you and college you are very different and finding the balance between the two parts of yourself is the real challenge. You can’t abandon who you are, but you can learn how to become more of yourself!
XOXO

Carol

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

