Review: Thief (Love Me With Lies #3) by Tarryn Fisher

Hi everyone!!!

Sorry for the disappearance…my graduation ball was last Friday and it was perfect! I had so much fun!!! My dress inspired on Jesse Ward a.k.a. Lord of the Manor was a success!! 🙂

Back to the books, last week I read a lot of intense books, such as Break Her, The Tied Man (sooo good, review yet to come) and Thief the final book in the Love Me With Lies series by Tarryn Fisher…

The Opportunist, the first book in this series is one of my all time favorite books ever! It is such a real story where the characters have flaws but because of them they are so relateable!

The reading order in this series is: The Opportunist, Dirty Red and Thief.

Thief

Rating: 5 sexy stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Note to Self

Love is patient; love is kind.
Love doesn’t boast or brag.
There’s no arrogance in love;
it’s never rude, crude, or indecent-it’s not self absorbed.
Love isn’t easily upset.
Love doesn’t tally wrongs.
Love trusts, hopes, and endures no matter what.
Love will never become obsolete.
I’ll fight for her.

Thief

Caleb Drake never got over his first love. Not when he got married. Not when she got married. When life suddenly comes full circle Caleb must decide how how far he is willing to go to get the aloof and alluring Olivia Kaspen back. But for every action in life there is a consequence, and soon Caleb finds out that sometimes love comes at an unbearably high price.

My Review:

I thought about giving this book 4.5 stars, because after finishing it I didn’t know what I was feeling…something was missing. And then I realized that I was missing this story and its characters (but Leah, I won’t miss that crazy bitch), and that it wouldn’t be fair to this book and the author if I punished them for loving this story so much that I didn’t want it to end…

Right in the first page of the book we can see that Caleb has grown a lot, he now is able to see his feelings more maturely…

“Olivia is a piece of art. You have to know how to interpret her, how to see the beauty under the harsh lines of her personality”.

After 10 years Caleb was still convinced of that Olivia belonged to him, no matter how many other women he had or how many men Olivia”s had..
I loved his conviction, specially because it was in the first page also, so before all happened (and after all that had already happened) he was still convinced of his love for her. And that was sexy as hell! 😉

“She’s mine. She always has been, she always will be. We’ve been running in opposite directions for the last ten years, and we collide at every turn. Sometimes, it’s because we’re looking for each other, other time it’s fate. She has the kind of love that can stain your soul, make you beg not to have one, just to escape the spell she’s put you under. I’ve tried to break myself of her over and over, but it’s pointless. I’ve got more of her in my veins than blood”.

In here we can see that Oliva is an obsession for him, but she is also his soulmate, the love of his life…In Caleb’s own words Olivia is a cross between Snow White and The Evil Queen, but he had no choice than to find her.

This series made me think that life would be so much better if love was actually like that…if two people actually could keep meeting and meeting until there’s no meeting left for them!
But it does get one (of many actually) thing right: love doesn’t have to be flawless…on the contrary. It is so terrible to mask your feelings behind your lies like Olivia did? You can argue that she’s got what she deserved for lying…but did she?

I was not expecting that ending! It was very, very fitting though.

So many misunderstandings and missing encounters happened between Olivia and Caleb…there were worse lies than the ones Olivia did…unfortunately she didn’t learn to communicate son enough, but in the end she did learn.
air
She grew up so much! I’m so proud of her and I’m also proud of Caleb! Cammie could have avoided so much of what happened between them, but even then Caleb didn’t resent her and it shows a lot o character of his part!

No matter how many people come into their lives, Caleb and Olivia belong together, no matter if they end up together or not…

“I made the decorator use a lot of red, because the color reminds me of Olivia. Leah has red hair, but Olivia has a red personality. And as far as I’m concerned, red belongs to the love of my life”.

Caleb’s POV is just as good as Olivia’s, or even better, because Olivia has a tendency of self-depreciate herself and as she says herself, Caleb has always been a very perceptive man.
This story grew just like its characters and it was a ride I wouldn’t have missed. I kept postponing reading The Opportunist and I’m glad I finally did. It definitely is one of my favorite books ever!!

There are so much suffering in this three books and so much that could have been avoided…but then, it is perfect that it wasn’t avoided because it shows us how life is, that things are not perfect and that people needs to go through stuff to come back better.
Caleb and Olivia specially came back more mature and for them it was a huge step.
Leah will never change and she can’t stop being a bitch (although a very, very clever one…she thought it all perfectly to make Caleb – and consequentially Olivia- suffer in this final book).

“But, Olivia loves you with her lies. She lies about how she’s feeling, how she’s hurting, how she wants you when she tells you she doesn’t. She lies to protect you and herself.”.

I loved knowing their past through Olivia’s POV in The Opportunist. I hated being in Leah’s mind in Dirty Red. And I loved seing theis story unfold in Caleb’s POV!Tarryn Fisher is a master in unfolding the pieces ofmsuch a great story together! Kudos for her and I absolutely love her style in writing!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

3 responses to “Review: Thief (Love Me With Lies #3) by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Pingback: “How many times can a heart be broken before it is beyond mend?” Thief, by Tarryn Fisher | Curious Kindle Reader

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Sex and the Books

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

