Review: Fading by E.K. Blair

fading

Rating: 4 sexy stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Can a guilty conscience keep wounds from healing?

Fine arts major, Candace Parker, grew up with a mother who thinks image is everything, and her daughter’s perfection will never be good enough. About to graduate college and pursue her dreams of becoming a professional ballerina, Candace decides it’s time to let go and have a little fun. But fun is short-lived when a brutal attack leaves her completely shattered.

The memories that consume and torment Candace are starting to destroy her when she meets Ryan Campbell, a successful bar owner. He feels instantly connected and tries to show her that hope is worth fighting for. But is Ryan harboring his own demons? As walls slowly begin to chip away, the secrets that are held within start to become painful burdens.

At what point do secrets become lies?

My Review:

My heart completely broke for Candace! Specially because after her brutal attack (it was one of the most graphic scenes I’ve read, and I read  a LOT of dark books, not that this is a dark one!), she kept feeling guilty about it!

You can’t help feeling sorry for her and it’s so easy to connect to her character!

Since the beginning I was expecting the truth about Ryan to come out and I was sure Candace wouldn’t like it, but she also had to see things from Ryan”s perspective…

“‘You’re not a waste of my time. You’re worth every second.'”

Ryan…OH MY GOD! How can someone be so sweet and patient? It impossible not to fall (even a little) in love with him! He’s been added to my Book Boyfriends List for sure! He is a little broken himself, and Candace might think she is fading, but she sure brings light to Ryan’s darkness…

This is not only a beautiful love story! It is mostly a story of conquering your fears, your insecurities, it’s about second chances and getting to love yourself and coming back when you’re down!!
“‘I’m fading’. I feel the heat of my tars as they linger down my cheeks. ‘He took all my light, and I’ve been fading ever since”

 

This was not a easy read, but sometimes we need to get out of our comfort zones (something I do frequently with my readings) and experience new types of readings. This story brings a lot of feelings, sometimes good ones, but sometimes sad and bad ones too.

Family is very important, but this book show us also that family not always need to be blood-related. Sometimes the people you choose to be by your side, and more importantly, the ones who choose to be with you, are just as important as the real family!
Ryan’s mom, Donna, and Jase are expert teachers in this lesson!

This is also a story about dreaming, and accomplishing to leave your fears behind…

“‘Don’t let your dreams fade away. Whatever happens, I know you two will find your way through it.'”

But this story it also shows that your dreams can change, just as you can change, but your essence, what makes you who you are can appear to fade, but it will never will. What you truly are is what makes you find your light again…

“‘I love you will never be strong enough for what I feel for you.'”

I feel so happy to have read this amazing book! I’m only giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of some loose ends I think it left and also because I believe someone in the book should have found more punishment, actually not only someone, but some people!

I can’t wait for the second book, with Ryan’s side of the story!
Fading will definitely stay with me forever and despite not giving it 5 stars, it sure is one of my favorite readings of this year (what shows us that great writers don’t have to please every reader’s whims to be great and write amazing stories!).

This book is a MUST read and I recommend it VERY, VERY, VERY MUCH!!

XOXO

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Review: Fading by E.K. Blair

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Sex and the Books

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

