Review: The Lonely by Tara Brown

I first read The Lonely on February, but since I saw that Tara Brown is doing a second book in Eli’s POV, I read it again last week…And for the second time, The Lonely didn’t fail to amaze me!

17259298

Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

The truth is subjective to what the lonely lets in.

Emalyn Spicer has lived with it for a long time. She thinks it goes back further than her memories do. She knows it goes back further than the OCD.

When she arrives at college, her OCD’s and the lonely refuse to let her have her wish to be normal.

When she meets Sebastian and starts to fall for him, she lets herself believe it’s possible to outrun the things chasing her from the past. But how to you get away from the things inside of you? How do you run from yourself?

Just as she gives up and succumbs to the lonely, the unthinkable happens. She finds herself once again trapped in the dark, once again held against her will.

This time she meets the lonely head on. In the darkest corners of her mind, she discovers there is more to her world than she ever imagined. She discovers that the lonely was there for her, protecting her from herself and her secrets.

How far would you go to find yourself?

This is a dark and captivating novel, tread lightly.

My Review:

The Lonely  is just one of the best, AMAZING, books I’ve read in my entire life!!!
Tara Brown has an INCREDIBLE talent for writing. I love books that can have an entire different story within them, just like this one. Since the beginning, the story directed us to a way and then all we thought was completely changed, but in such a good way!

It develops in a perfect way! All we thought made sense was wrong and what would seem like a wrong thing turned out to actually be good, very, very good.

We are introduced to Emalyn Spicer, an orphan who has a lot of OCD issues, she needs to be clean and clean everything to feel, not only safe, but to actually feel clean. All she wants is to be a “normal” girl, to go out, have dates, to have a life like most of the young women her age. But for her, this is very difficult, she lived her entire life at other people’s mercy and got into college with the help of a misterious Benefactor, who not only pays for all her things, but also paid for ther best-friend to go with her to the same college.

At college she meets Sebastian, who seems to be the perfect boy and the perfect choice for her. He keeps trying to understand her and her issues but at the same time he doesn’t realize that Em doesn’t need saving or fixing, she just want to be loved. You can’t help to fall at least a bit for Sebastian. Since the beginning, though, I knew it wasn’t Sebastian the boy who was meant for Em…I had suspicions of who he might be, but even getting it right, I didn’t see the rest coming!

Whenever she’s about to remember something from her past, she’s taken by some sort of depression, by her own definition, called the Lonely. So when something incredibly Earth-shattering and life-altering happens to her, we can’t help to say “WHAT THE F*CK did just happen here???”

Besides the obvious change in Em’s character after that, we can also see the changes in Sebatian and that was what made me finally decide that he wasn’t good or right for her… Since the first chapter I liked her benefector better than Sebastian, and was hoping for him to be around her age LOL

When she first went to the club I loved the guy she meets there and when she’s abducted I was still rooting for her abductor to be him and also secretly hoping that he would be the Benefactor! Sometimes I have a sick mind…LOL

I had a HUGE surprise them, I was starting to feel the story would be like in Captured in the Dark…

And then, we have a completely USPIDE DOWN turn of events (when you read it, you’ll know what I’m talking about)!!!

I have a taste for the dark stories and I honestely can say that (almost) nothing surprises me anymore, but I had such a GREAT surprise with this story!!!
Well, I’m still at a loss of words, I can’t explain all the things I felt after reading this book, but i know they are all good!
I’m so grateful I got to read The Lonely! It’s very rare for us to find a book as complete as this one, I just wished it lasted longer. But now that I know there will be a second book (in another POV), let’s just hope it continues after the end of The Lonely.
Congratulations on Tara Brown for writing such an UNBELIEVABLY amazing work!! She set a very high standard with this one!
I wish I could put into more words how complete this reading was for me, I don’t know how to explain, but the characters and story developed in so many ways, I just love a story that starts a way, grows into another and ends with a very satisfatory ending!! Yaay!
I really trully loved this book!

Thanks Tara, I can’t wait for Lost Boy!

P.S.: Lost Boy will be out on July 15th, you can pre-order yours on Amazon, just click on the link above!

XOXO

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “Review: The Lonely by Tara Brown

  1. Pingback: Review: Lost Boy by Tara Brown | Sex and the Books

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Sex and the Books

  3. Pingback: Book Boyfriends Valentine’s Daily Cards: Eli Adams | Beauty and the Book Blog

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

