Review: Epilogue – The Dark Duet by C.J. Roberts

Epilogue

Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

BOOK 3 OF THE DARK DUET
(The final version should have 15 Chapters + an epilogue)

I’m writing this because you begged. You know how I love the begging. In fact, you probably know too many things and know them far too well.

Who am I?

Well, that’s what I’m trying to figure out. I was a whore in my youth, a killer since my adolescence, and a monster as a man. I am the man who kidnapped Livvie. I am the man who held her in a dark room for weeks. But, most importantly, I am the man she loves.

She loves me. It’s quite sick, isn’t it?

Of course, there’s more to our story than can be surmised in a few short sentences, but I’m at a loss for justifying my behavior back then. I assume if you’re reading this, I don’t need to make those justifications. You’ve already made your own.

You’re reading this because you want to know about the rest of the story. You want to know what happened that warm summer night in September of 2010, the night I met Livvie at The Paseo. It was the night my life changed all over again.

It didn’t happen exactly as Livvie said. She’s been very kind to me in the retelling of our story. The truth is far more…complicated.

My Review:

First of all I got something to say about the cover: HOT! It’s sensual in a very peculiar way, I had to look twice to realize it was supposed to be Caleb (the hand and arm convinced me LOL)…

Well, I really enjoyed this book. It was different from the previous two, because this one is in Caleb’s POV. Caleb is surprisingly funny, I found myself laughing out loud in some parts of this book (what wouldn’t happen with the previous two). The reason for it is not only Caleb’s funny remarks, but also because this book is set in a much less dark, intense and frightening way than the others.

“Tell me your side of things. I want to hear the good and the bad. I have so many questions, so many moments of my life where I only know half the information. Your read my side of it. I want your side. Help me understand how I managed to…”

Epilogue starts where Seduced in the Dark left Olivia and Caleb: in Barcelona.

This book brings some stuff from Caleb’s past and his feelings about it, but what I liked in it was that Caleb and Olivia grew up, but they didn’t forget who they once were, it would be impossible anyway. Caleb feels conflicted about loving Olivia after all that he did (my thoughts through the first two books, I didn’t know why I liked him after everything), but in the end what counts is that they accept each other for what they are now.

“You are the best thing that’s ever happened to me, Caleb. You’re also the worst. I’m trying to reconcile those two things. Help me?”

Olivia finally has the chance to be a young woman, something that was stolen from her by the man she loves. It’s understandable that she feels sick sometimes, and unprotected and alone. She now has a dark side that wasn’t there before. The big question is: can she, and Caleb accept her darker side?

“I’d make them see that some stories aren’t black and white. I’d make them feel this, us.”/span>

Can Caleb live with what he has done to her? Will they be willing to compromise and share their feelings and thoughts about the (not so distant) past so they can move on? After all…is moving on even possible after everything?

Well dear readers, these are questions that I can’t answer for you, you have to draw your own conclusions after reading it…Just know that every word of this book was worth it! Caleb is hotter than never, he’s more soft in some aspects, but will always be Caleb, domineering, sometimes dark, cocky Caleb…If Olivia can’t resist him, how could we???

“Survival is the most important thing.It affords us the chance to live and to find all of the things that make living worth-while.”

OBSThe highlighted parts were extracted from the book.

XOXO

5 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

5 responses to “Review: Epilogue – The Dark Duet by C.J. Roberts

  1. Pingback: Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet: Book 1) by CJ Roberts | Sisters Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Review: Epilogue (The Dark Duet #3) by C.J. Roberts | Nonsensical Thoughts and Ramblings...

  3. Pingback: Review: Truth by Aleatha Romig + Consequences’ Teaser | Sex and the Books

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Sex and the Books

  5. Pingback: My Favorite Reads of 2013 | Beauty and the Beastly Books Blog

Leave a Reply

