Review: Consequences by Aleatha Romig

Well, I actually read this book for the first time last year. This book, along with its sequel (Truth), is my all time favorite! I used to find very difficult to choose one, two, or even 10 favorite books from my + 1000 read books, but after experiencing the brilliance of Ms. Romig, it’s difficult not to love this book… Since the Consequences Blog Tour is coming, I decided to post my review of it!! I I also need to explain that I like darker books, and what we call mind fucks, are becoming my favorite type. I’m always trying to get more people to come to the Dark Side of reading! LOL I LOVE Tony, but I want to make things clear: I DO NOT condone violence and his earlier behavior… It’s very difficult to explain all the emotions this book evokes in you, and if you haven’t read Aleatha’s books, you need to buy them ASAP!! It’s a mastermind’s dream to write something like this!! I’ll try not to spoil anything with my review, just know one thing when you read the book: you’ve been warned!!!

Rating: 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Besieged by memories of a brutal abduction, Claire Nichols wakes in an unfamiliar bedroom, within a luxurious mansion. Her recollections have one common denominator, the man she just met, Anthony Rawlings. Unbeknownst to Claire, for a very long time, she has been within Anthony’s sights. Many of the pivotal events in her life occurred, due to his sinister manipulation. Every action has a consequence, and his actions result in their chance meeting. More than a psychological thriller, Consequences is a vivid story of one woman’s struggle to survive incomprehensible circumstances. Every aspect of her being suddenly depends upon the tall, wealthy, dark haired, dark eyed businessman. Anthony Rawlings is known to the world as prosperous, benevolent, and kind. Claire quickly learns that he can also be a menacing controlling captor. With few options but concession, Claire attempts to earn her freedom, while enduring a hellish existence that truly appears perfect. Persevering tests and trials, she struggles to retain her pure Midwest values and beliefs. Encouraged by memories of a loving upbringing, she gains strength in the simplest of joys: solitude in nature and good in the face of evil. His goal in sight, Anthony’s calculated agenda encounters an unforeseen detour. He becomes captivated by Claire’s beauty, resilience, and determination. The interaction of these two compelling characters instigates strong emotions: fear, anger, love, and lust. Claire and Anthony’s tumultuous journey flows into uncharted waters of intrigue and passion. Utilizing vivid detail, this 167,000-word novel unfolds like a movie, before the eyes of its readers. From the opening criminal abduction, through twists and turns, to the unlikely romantic thrills, the suspense climaxes as Anthony’s motivation becomes evident. Anthony and Claire must decide if they will stay true to one another, or allow preceding actions to result in justifiable Consequences.

My Review:

 I got very conflicted while reading this book. Even though I liked Tony since the beginning, I was very very disturbed and disgusted with myself for liking him. But since the very first time he appears I new I’d like him and nothing would change that. Some  of the things did to Claire I can’t understand and forget (when you read Truth, things will be a little more clear).

This is a extremely well written story and it will make you question your sanity, you will wonder if what Claire (and you too) feels is just some good old Stockholm Syndrome. Towards the end of the book I was already expecting the reasons behind Anthony’s behavior to be what they were, but I think he’s weak, so very week! Don’t get me wrong, he’s a master at dominating, but by the end of the second book, you’ll see that all that we thought was one thing it is actually a completely different thing!

Even after everything, I still like him, though…and that is what made me feel sick! How can I still like him??? Don’t get me wrong, I wanted him to suffer, and suffer a lot, but I also wanted a happy ending for him..as I said, I’m very mixed, conflicted and difficult emotions are pulled from you while reading this story.

I understand Claire’s fascination with Anthony Rawlings…Tony is a very charming man, he possess a magnetic personality and if I saw him in person I know I’d be more than attracted to him, he seems to have that effect, he draws you to him, like a moth to a flame (my Tony is David Gandy – click to view – he has that animalistic attraction and his eyes expression is so compelling!)

Claire…I’m conflicted about her too! Sometimes I think she’s just weak, but then, I understand the reasons behind her silence and all her compartmentalizing. Where is the female power when you need it? But I actually like Claire, and think that after all she went through a wake-up call was needed! When you reach the second book a more mature Claire is what you get and to get there, she needed to go through all she did in Consequences.

Well, after all, if I was capable of falling in love with Tony, why couldn’t Claire too?? I know that he’s a result of his upbringing, a very  disturbed one must we say…he’s the consequence of a bad family and bad influences. Tony truly fascinates me. Better, Aleatha fascinates me! All that brilliance!

This is not a love story, but I don’t think it’s a psychological thriller as well. This is a story about choices, and what leads a people to be who they are. I’m not saying you won’t fall in love here…even the ones who doesn’t like Tony, can’t say they didn’t like the story. If you won’t fall in love with Tony, you certainly will with Aleatha’s brilliance! Even though some of what happens here seems very unrealistic, this is story is one of the most real I’ve read! You feel a real connection with the characters  and with the story itself.

I never felt such a multitude of feelings after a book, not in this level! So conflictingly good! I feel honored to have read this series. To write something that scare us and make us feel conflicted, disgusted and also liking the characters is not for just any author, it gets a very, very amazing one!!!

And the consequences? Well we don’t even need to mention…all the raving reviews talk for themselves! The consequences are a very, truly amazing reading!!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

3 responses to “Review: Consequences by Aleatha Romig

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Consequences by Aleatha Romig | Sex and the Books

  2. Pingback: “Life is not what it’s supposed to be. It’s what it is. The way you cope with it is what makes the difference.” Consequences, by Aleatha Romig | Curious Kindle Reader

  3. Kathy Gaiser

    Wow I have read forever , (57 years old) I have never read a book that literally took over my life for over a week. This has to be the most engrossing book I have ever read. I could
    not put it down. My husband asked me if something was wrong I told him I can’t stop reading this book. My kudus go to Althea Romig keep writing I can’t wait for you’re next book

Leave a Reply

